The Story of Our Town
Marguerite McCord Watt
Kathlyn V. Wade
With Illustrations by John D. Miller
The middle section of Olive Township is crossed by the Valparaiso Moraine. This ridge runs a little north of east through the township until it abruptly ends at about the middle of the Studebaker Providing Grounds on State Route 2, some two miles south and one half mile east of New Carlisle. The Valparaiso Moraine was undoubtedly the ridge of a high hill which held back the waters of the slowly melting glaciers.
There is evidence that one of the mighty rivers from this source ran east from Lake Michigan through what is now Terre Coupe prairie until stopped by the high hills in the eastern part Warren Township. The water rose higher and higher until it finally ran over the hills in the vicinity of the proving grounds and thereby found a way south until it mingled its waters with the Kankakee River. The long continued flow of water finally washed the moraine entirely away and deposited its gravel and clay on the marsh land south of that point, where it eventually covered by muck. The valley of the old river was from eight to twelve miles wide and as century followed century, it became smaller and left its old shore shelves behind. New Carlisle is situated on the last of these shelves.
Many years ago the land was covered by a heavy growth of timber, but a narrow belt of land about three-fourths of a mile wide always remained clear of timber. This the Indians called Terre Coupe, meaning "shaking or quivering ground."By John Asher White, New Carlisle Historian member of the St. Joseph County and Indian State Historical Societies.
SECOND PRIME MERIDIAN
Every survey measurement is based upon the original starting point, known as the Second Prime Meridian, a true north and south line that passes through St. Joseph county and the whole state. The Meridian is about two miles east of New Carlisle and is generally along the same line as Spruce Rd. and its extensions. The line, shown on most maps, was arbitrarily established in the state when Indiana still was called the Northwest Territory. A first Prime Meridian runs east and west and passes through the southern portion of the state. The lines have no connection with the world longitude and latitude lines and apply only to Indiana. Each state has its own.
From this Second Prime Meridian base line emanate the range boundaries, consisting of six- mile wide squares. Each range is broken down into 36 sections, each one square mile. Thus properties east of the line would be designated as located in an east range, and those west in a west range number. Sections are similarly numbered. Six inch concrete blocks with brass pins imbedded mark each section corner. The corners may have been disturbed or destroyed and thats where the county surveyor comes into action. St. Joseph County has 470 sections of land.
The site of New Carlisle, and also the beautiful Terre Coupee Prairie it overlooks, was included in the lands ceded to the United States by the treaty made the Pottawatomie Indians on October 16, 1826.
The Pottawatomie tribe of Indians, the owners and inhabitants of the territory now comprising northern Indiana, belonged to the Algonquin family and were related by ties of consanguinity to the Ojibways, Chippewas and Ottawas. Their name, meaning "fire makers" had reference to their custom of making a tribal council fire.
It is estimated that there were more than two thousand Pottawatomie in the region north of the Wabash River and south of Lake Michigan. They were a peaceful tribe and lived on friendly terms with the white people. They had no uniform place of residence. During the fall and winter and part of the spring, they were scattered in the woods, hunting and fishing. Their wigwams were made of poles stuck in the ground and tied together with pieces of bark, hickory withes and sometimes strips of rawhide. The Indians covered them with bark or mats made of flagweeds. In the summer they raised corn, but lived mostly on wild game or fish they caught in the streams or lakes. In season, fruits and nuts were added to their diet.
The growth of timber through this part was not dense forest. The Indians had a custom of annually burning away the underbrush and it opened fine vistas through the trees giving the land the appearance of a beautiful park. Through it all ran innumerable traveled ways, out of the surrounding wilderness. When white men first came here they found well marked pathways, troden by human feet.These they called trails or traces. Many of the old original Indian trails have become roads or highways because of the convenience and long usage. While at first many of them were narrow and almost indistinguishable, the wagons of the pioneers gradually widened them.
The policy of making treaties with the Indians as independent tribes for the possession of their lands, was no doubt better than seizing the lands by force, but it was really only a pretense of negotiating, as the Indians were practically subjugated from the beginning. The treaties, by which they relinquished their rights and ceded their lands, usually stipulated a sum of money and promises of various articles, such as rifles, blankets and tobacco to each Indian.The treaty of October 16,1826 between Lewis Cass, James B. Ray and John Tipton on the part of the United States and the Chiefs and warriors of the Pottawatomie tribe of Indians, was preceded by a talk by General Cass, urging the Indians to take advantage of the fine offer made them.
The speech began by thanking the Great Spirit for having granted them good weather and bringing them to the Council House in safety. He continued: "When the Great Spirit placed you upon this island (the Indians called this continent an island), he gave you plenty of game for food and clothing and bows and arrows to kill it. After some time it became difficult to kill the game and the Great Spirit sent the white men here who supplied you with powder and ball and with blankets and clothes. We were then a very small people, but we have greatly increased and we are now over the whole face of the country. You have decreased and your numbers are now much reduced. You have but little game, and it is difficult for you to support your women and children by hunting. Your Great Father, whose eyes survey the whole country, sees that you have a large tract of land here which is of no service to you; you do not cultivate it, and there is but little game upon it. The buffalo has long since left it, and the deer are going. There are no beaver, there will soon be no animals worth hunting upon it.
There are a great many of the white children of your Great Father who would be glad to live on this land. They would build houses and raise corn and cattle and hogs. You know when a family grows up and becomes large, they must leave their fathers house and look for a place for themselves. So it is with your white brethren, their family is increasing and they must find some new place to move to. Your Great Father is willing to give for this land, much more than it is worth to you. He is willing to give you more than all the game upon it would sell for. You know well that all he promises, he will perform."The speaker then pointed out how much happier the Indians would be far away from the whites, where there would be no danger of collisions, and especially where it would not be so easy for their young men to obtain whiskey.
He continued: "Your Great Father owns a large country west of the Mississippi River. He is anxious that all his red children should remove there and settle down in peace together; then they can hunt and provide well for their women and children and once more become happy people. We are authorized to offer you a residence there, equal in extent to your lands here, and to pay you an annuity which will make you comfortable, and to provide the means of your removal. You will then have a country abounding with game, and you will also have the value of the country you leave, and you will be beyond the reach of whiskey, for it cannot reach you there. Your Great Father will not suffer his white children to reside there, for it is reserved for the red people; it will be yours as long as the sun shines and the rain falls. You must go before long; you cannot remain here, you must remove or perish.Now is the time to make a good bargain for yourselves which will make you rich and comfortable. Come forward, then, like wise men and accept the terms we offer." While the Indians could not have been fooled entirely, nevertheless, they signed the treaty, and ceded the land of their forefathers to the white man.
The treaty affecting New Carlisle is in part as follows:
Lewis Cass, James B. Ray and John Tipton, Commissioners on the part of the United States, with The Chiefs and Warriors of the Pottawatomie Tribe of Indians. Treaty Dated October 16,1826 Recorded 7th United States Statutes at large, Page 295 Indian Treaties.
Proclamation issued February 7, 1827. Article 1 of said Treaty recites as follows:
The Pottawatomie Tribe of Indians cede to the United States, all their right to land within the following limits: Beginning at a point upon Lake Michigan, ten miles due north of the southern extremes thereof: running thence due east, to the land ceded by the Indians to the United States by the treaty of Chicago: Thence south with the boundary thereof ten miles, thence west, to the southern extremes of Lake Michigan; thence with the shore, thereof, to the place of beginning (with other lands.)
Article 6-The United States agrees to grant to each of the persons named in the schedule hereunto annexed, the quantity of land therein stipulated to be granted: But the land, so granted, shall never be conveyed by either of the said persons, or their heirs, without the consent of the President of the United States: and it is also understood that any of these grants may be expunged from the schedule , by the President or Senate of the United States, without affecting any other part of the treaty.
To each of the following persons, Indians by birth, and who are now, or have been scholars in the Carey Mission Schools on the St. Joseph under the direction of the Reverend Isaac McCoy, one quarter section of land, to be located under the direction of the President of the United States: That is to say: Joseph Bourissa, Noaquett, John Jones, Miko, Soswa, Manotuk, Betsey Ash, Charles Dick, Susanna Isaacs, Harriet Isaacs, Betsey Plummer, Angeline Isaacs, Jemima Isaacs, Jacob Corby, Konkapot, Celicia Nimham, Mark Bourissa, Jude Bourissa, Annowussan, Topenibe, Terrez, Shesko, Louis Wilmett, Mitchell Wilmett, Lezett Wilmett, Esther Bailey, Rosann Baily, Eleanor Baily, Quehkna, William Turner, Chaukenozwoh, Lazarus Bourissa, Achan Bourissa, Achemukquee, Wesauwan, Peter Moose, Ann Sharp, Joseph Wolf, Misnoquo, Pomogna, Wymego, Cheekeh, Wauwossemoqua, Moeksumau, Lalautmo, Richard Clements, Louis MNeff, Shoshqua, Nscotename, Chikawketch, Mnsheewoh, Saugana, Msonkqua, Mnitoqua, Okutcheek, Naomi C. Browning, Antoine, St. Antoine Mary, (From a document in the vault of the First National Bank.)
THE CAREY MISSION
The Carey Mission was located just over the line in Michigan, halfway between Niles and Buchanan at the great northern bend of the St. Joseph River. The institution was well known in the early history of southern Michigan and northern Indiana, and by people of Olive Township during the years immediately following the first settlement.
The Carey Mission was established in 1822 for the education of the Indian children. It was named after a distinguished Baptist Missionary and educator. Mr. McCoy and his assistants exhibited the greatest self-sacrifice in their effort to build up in the wilderness an institution that might serve as a center from which Christianity and civilization should be diffused among all the Indians of the northwest. A large farm was cleared and log buildings were erected for dwellings, school houses and barns. At one time there were as many as two hundred Indians in the institution. The coming of the white people however, proved the ruination of this benevolent work. The Indian titles to the adjacent lands were soon extinguished; and the Indians were forced to remove to the west. The mission was closed in 1832.
ST. JOSEPH COUNTY ORGANIZATION
The white population of this region was rapidly increasing by the year 1830. The legislature, then in session deemed it expedient to provide for the organization of two counties, St. Joseph county and Elkhart county, in the St. Joseph Valley. This act of legislation, which was improved by the governor, became a law January 29, 1830. A board of justices was formed for the transaction of county business. They met at the house of Alexis Coquillard in what is now South Bend, on the fourth Monday of May, 1830 and appointed the following county officers - A treasurer, required to post a bond of $1,000.00, an assessor, a tax collector, two constables, two overseers of the poor, and two fence viewers.
On Monday, September 6, 1830, the board of justices held their second meeting. Grand and petit jurors for the November term of Circuit Court were drawn. It does not appear from the records that any of these jurors were ever called. Names familiar to the people of New Carlisle were included in the petit jurors. Paul Egbert, John Druliner, Israel Rush, Barzillla Druliner, Jacob Harris, Richard Harris, Jacob Egbert and Sam Garwood.
A third session of the board of justices was held in the home of Alexis Coquillard, on Tuesday, September 14, 1830. At this meeting the commissioners were allowed three dollars a day each for their services in locating the county seat. The fourth and last meeting of the board of justices was held in the home of Alexis Coquillard, on Tuesday, on November 25, 1830. The last act of this fourth session of the board of justices was the division of the county into four townships.
The township, a part of which later became Olive Township, was first known as Deschemin Township. The board of justices ordered the Sheriff of St. Joseph County to give the citizens of the township written notification, according to law, to hold an election at the house of John Druliner to elect one justice of the peace for the township on the 18th day of December, 1830. Deschemin township consisted of territory now embraced within eastern LaPorte, northern Starke, and western St. Joseph counties. The towns of New Carlisle and Walkerton, in St. Joseph county; and Hudson, Rolling Prairie and Stillwell in LaPorte county are within what was Deschemin township.
Historians agree that Deschemin must be an interpretation of the french words Du Chemin. Hudson Lake was once called Lac Du Chemin, which means "Lake of the road", no doubt deriving its name from the fact that the Great Sauk Trail passed close to the south edge of the Lake. The Sauk Trail ran west by south through the north part of Olive Township, crossed the old town of Terre Coupee, also called Prairie Coupee, Hudson, formally called Lakeport, on Lac Du Chemin, LaPorte and thence on to Chicago.
There is no further record of any action taken by our first and only board of justices after the fourth meeting of November 25, 1830. By an act approved January 19,1831, the general assembly changed the law regulating county business, substituting a board of commissioners for the board of justices. The act, with the exception of a few revisions, remains almost unchanged.
FIRST WHITE SETTLERS
Charles Vail, Grandfather of Mame Vail, came to Indiana from Romay, New Jersey in 1828. Alexis Coquillard and he were good friends. While he was cutting logs for his cabin, he injured his foot badly and blood poison set in. An Indian squaw found him. Everyday she sat stolidly on the dirt floor of his unfinished cabin, chewing patiently on slippery elm bark. When the bark grew soft and slimy, she spat it out and made a poultice out of it. Time and again she bound it on the terribly wounded foot, until one day, the poison left his wracked body and he was healed.
The Sauk War was on by that time. Charles Vail returned to New Jersey. He stayed there until 1830 when he came back to Indiana. Soon after his arrival, he married Olive Stanton in LaPorte, Indiana. His young bride was seventeen years of age. They did not return to the log cabin on the prairie, but took up government land at what is now known as Trail Creek.
Lot Vail, a Quaker bachelor, settled on the old Charles Vail place at Terre Coupe. By this time the townships had been reorganized and the first election was held in the home of John Druliner on the 18th of December, 1830, was ordered by the board of justices of St. Joseph county. Charles Vail was the inspector for that election. As he was a Quaker, he would not administer an oath, so he required the members of the election board to affirm.
One evening in 1831, Mr. And Mrs. Charles Vail had as their guest for dinner, Judge Elisha Egbert, Who had married them. The Honorable Judge must have been well pleased with the fare set forth by the demure Quaker housewife. According to legend he is supposed to have said: "Charles, the best and most beautiful township in St. Joseph County shall be named for thy lovely wife." Hence the name Olive Township.
The first settlement in the township, was on the Northeast side of the Terre Coupe Prairie. The Hubbards, Druliners, Garouttes, Haines, Bowkers, Swanks and Whites, Curreys, Nickersons, Ransteads, and Reynolds settled there.
Between Bourissa Hills (as New Carlisle was then called) and the lower section lived the Bordens, the Rush brothers, Sam, Jacob and Leonard, Lot and Thomas Vail, Hormal Reed, Judge Bowker, William Baldwin, and Gabriel Reed families.
The South Woods, or what is now called the Olive Chapel, was heavily timbered. The Hooten, Van Dusen, Carr, Rodger, Bennitt and Moffitt families and others, settled there. They found the land difficult to cultivate, because of the various slabs of granite stone they called "nigger heads."
The Egbert family consisting of, John, Paul, Jacob and Charles, came here from New York State. John came in January, 1830. Four months later in May, Paul and Jacob Egbert arrived. They were all methodists. Paul Egbert was an exhorter and preacher, so the Egbert family along with the Benjamin Reddings and others were active in the building of the Methodist church at Hamilton.
As the early settlers poured into the county, they were as diverse in culture and background as the part of the country they came from. Many were from New York state, Ohio and Southern Indiana and Kentucky. According to their talents and characteristics, they became a part of the rough frontier life. And so it was that early in 1834, Richard Risley Carlisle, a relative of the Egberts, came to Olive Township from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Little is known of this man. While there are no authentic facts about him, aside from his old signature on old deeds, and papers, legend describes him as a dreamer and a wanderer.
Lazarus Bourissa lived in a double pole log cabin and ran a trading post on the site where Community Church stands today. A marriage record shows he was married to Mary Ann Harminson. Bourissa was a product of the Carey Mission School and owned "Bourissa Hill" by reason of a land grant as stated in a previous chapter. On June 4, 1835, Mr. Carlisle purchased in consideration of $2,000.00 all the North 1/4 of Section 34; and Township No. 38 North and Range No. 1 West, containing 160 acres of ground, being a certain quarter section of land reserved to Lazarus Bourissa in and by the treaty of October 6, 1826.
COPY OF THE WARRANTY DEED
Lazarus Borrossa Warranty Deed
(also spelled Dated June 24, 1835 Bourissa) Recorded March 4, 1837 to Deed record "C"
Richard R. Carlisle Page 521 Consideration $2,000.00
Conveys all the north East 1/4 of Range No. 34, and Township No. 38 North and of Range No. 1 West, containing 160 acres of ground. It being a certain quarter section of land reserved to the said Lazarus Bourissa in and by the treaty entered into the Wabash River on the 6th day of October in the year of our Lord 1826, between Governor Lewis Cass, Governor James B Ray, and General John Tipton, Commissioners on the part of the United States and Chiefs and Warriors of the Pottawatomie Tribe of Indians, reference being had to the said Treaty and ratification thereof will more fully appear. Said land being situated in the county of St. Joseph.
Signed, sealed and delivered in the presence of Israel H. Rush, Leonard Rush.Signed "Lazarus Bourissa."
By August 15, of the same year, Richard Carlisle had platted the town and named the streets after his native city of Philadelphia, Pa. The dedication and acknowledgment of the town plat reads as follows:
"This plat represents the Town of New Carlisle, situated in the northeast quarter of section thirty-four, in township thirty-eight north, in range one west, in St. Joseph County, Indiana. Each lot is one hundred and thirty-two feet in length by fifty feet in width. All the streets and alleys cross at right angles-variation north eight degrees and twenty minutes west. The width of the streets is marked on each respectively. (Michigan street is shown to be one hundred feet in width:and Front, Chestnut, Cherry, Filbert, Arch, and race, each, sixty feet.) The alleys lying parallel with Michigan street are each sixteen and one-half feet wide; those of a contrary course are each eight feet wide.
"Richard R. Carlisle,Proprietor."The beginning point to re-survey any of the lots of this is at a stone at the north east corner of No. 33."Surveyed by Tyra W. Bray, St. Joseph County Surveyor."
Richard Carlisle, however, was a spender also. He had many fine guns, the most expensive of that day and was known to be an excellent marksman. According to Warners history of Olive Township, "He later went to England and toured the country giving exhibitions of his skill and marksmanship.In April of 1836, therefore, he mortgaged the entire 160 acres that he purchased from Lazarus<>Bourissa, bearing the date of June 24, 1835, to one John Willits, Bricklayer, of the city and the county of Philadelphia and the state of Pennsylvania.
This mortgage was acknowledged by Carlisle on April 29, 1836, before James P. Antrim, a Justice of the Peace in and for St. Joseph County, Indiana.On March 15, 1837, Richard Carlisle filed and acknowledged an additional plat to the Town of New Carlisle, which included the original plat and also blocks one to twenty-one adjoining the original plat on the West and South.This last plat was printed and lithographed in the city of New York, and contained a beautiful view of the town overlooking Terre Coupee Prairie. Apparently they wee intended to be circulated throughout the east to attract attention and encourage immigration here.
May 23, 1837, John Willitts issued a quit claim deed, back to Richard Carlisle, releasing the mortgage on the town. No record of Richard Carlisles marriage can be found, but on certain papers, the name of "Rebecca", his wife, began to appear. Their home was located a little south and west of what is now Filbert Street and Front Street. There were some log cabins in the yard, one occupied by Samuel Bates (known as Stubby) and the other by Chovklet Crammer.
Two of Richard Carlisles children were buried in back of the First Methodist Church, and in 1854, Frances Warner told of taking two relatives of Richard Carlisle to view these graves. They were marked by a rail pen, but nothing marks the spot today.According to legend, Richard Carlisle returned to America , after touring England, and became a theatrical man. The last heard of him, was that he was known on the stage as Richard Risley and owned a small circus. He stopped in New Carlisle, one day, while the train took on wood and water. John Hoyt was the station agent at the time. He said then, that he intended to return to the town named for him, but he never did.
THE MATTHEW'S FAMILY
The year 1836 found the Matthews family in the great westward migration. They traveled by way of the Hudson River and Erie Canal to Buffalo, by streamer to Detroit, thence over the Chicago Trail to New Carlisle.
Schuyler Colfax, who became Vice President of the United States, was eleven years old, when his widowed mother married George W. Mathews on November 6, 1834. Although his step father was only fourteen years older, the two were always devoted to each other.Soon after the Matthews family arrived in New Carlisle, George built a one story frame building on the north side of Michigan Street, thirty feet east of Arch street and opened a store there.
Mr. Matthews apparently was a good politician, for he was appointed Post-master and elected Justice of the Peace, within a year of their arrival. He made the most of the facilities at hand. He set up the Post office in his store and used it for a court room when necessity demanded. Mr. and Mrs. George Matthews were good citizens from the moment of their arrival here. There is no question that the first Sunday School in New Carlisle was organized in the Mathews home that stood on the southeast corner of Michigan and Bray streets. They planted locust trees all around their lot and called it Locust Place.Schuyler Colfaxs own father had been a very religious man and Mr. And Mrs. Mathews and Schuyler taught and maintained this Sunday School until 1841, when the family moved to South Bend.
THE TEMPERANCE MOVEMENT IN
A man by the name of John Littlejohn, an eccentric and eloquent speaker, as early as 1842, brought the Temperance Movement to New Carlisle. He was an ex Presbyterian preacher, composed his own songs and always worked with the church people. He held meetings in the Hamilton church. He so stirred the women folks of New Carlisle that the group of ladies, including Mrs. Jerry Service, Mrs. Gabe Druliner and Mrs. Jacob Warner, formed an organization to do away with whiskey and gambling in the town.
One of their procedures was to arm themselves with hatchets, saws and clubs. Then they would break up every piece of furniture, break all the bottles and empty every jug or keg, smash the tumblers and make general havoc with the place of business.
Schuyler Colfax was an ardent supporter of this movement and encouraged the women to choose their own course in dealing with the problem. Pledge cards were signed by the hundreds, and women would take turns going two by two and calmly sitting in the saloon, only to be relieved by two more, much to the annoyance and embarrassment of the saloon keeper. It was a movement, however, that was to lead eventually to prohibition in the nation.
NOTE:-- Certain hand-written editions of temperance papers are on file in the Public Library, namely - "The Echo", January - 1868; "The Temperance Guardian", March - 1876; "The Watchman", September - 1876; and "The Banner", December - 1876.
The coming of the Lake Shore railroad, that is now The New York Central, was the factor that established the town of New Carlisle, as it is by passed Hamilton, and made of that settlement a ghost town. The first train went through New Carlisle January 1st, 1852.
During the early days of the railroad the crews were good natured fellows, often rendering service to the community far beyond the call of duty. Every engine had a name of its own engineer.The trains of that day were hand fired with wood, cut in four foot lengths. Much of our fine timber went for fire wood. It was a period when a spirit of adventure and confidence prevailed. A spirit which later was to carry the town through wars, depressions and disasters.And so, as the years went by, in the early 1900's, various franchises were granted to operate an electric line through the corporate limits of New Carlisle. In those days the roads that linked communities together were filled with mud and chuck holes. The automobile was something a few daring inventors were experimenting with.But the electric motor had been developed to where it would propel a vehicle comparable in speed to the steam engine. So like the rest of the nation the people looked to the construction of an electric railway as a great step forward.
The towns people were anxious to have an interurban line run through the town and began early in the century to grant franchises to various companies in an endeavor to bring this about. An entire generation has grown up since the first franchise was placed ion the statute books of New Carlisle.>July 3rd, 1902, W.A. Orton and G.W. Bryson were granted a franchise to operate an electric train through the corporate limits of New Carlisle, under the name of the Chicago and Indiana Airline Railway Company.
In May, 1903, Hobart and Western Electric were granted a franchise to construct a street railway over, upon, and along the highway, known as Michigan Street. An ordinance authorization the construction upon either Front, Chestnut or Ada Streets of a street railway by the Indiana Western railway company, was passed by the board of trustees of the town of New Carlisle November 2, 1903. Mr. Wm. H. Deacon was town clerk at the time. On the board, Dr. J. Davis was president, James A. Catterlin, Henry Wethered, Ed. Kinney and Chas. D. White served as members.
The ordinance passed by this board was ordered published in the New Carlisle Gazette January 18, 1904. An ordinance was passed on the 23rd day of June, 1905, granting to the South Bend Western Railway Company the right to construct and operate a line of street railway in and along Zigler Street.The company was to erect and maintain a station for the accommodation of its patrons and maintain lights there. The Northern Indiana Railway Company was the successor of the Indiana Western Railway Company, placed on file, with the New Carlisle town clerk, a certified copy of the resolution of acceptance.
In the Spring of 1907, two electric lines were completed. One line was from South Bend to Chicago by way of Michigan City by way of LaPorte. A station was built on Zigler Street to accommodate passengers for both roads. The Northern Indiana railroad went out of existence in 1932 and the track was taken up shortly after.Rolling Prairie and New Carlisle were closely associated through various clubs and church activities. With the removal of the railroad, it became difficult to continue these activities, and what had been a pleasant association came to an end. Today two railroads cross the town from East to West; The Chicago South Shore and South Bend Electric Railway and the New York Central, making available to the people all the advantages of the big cities between Chicago and South Bend. Work is not confined to the limits of the boundary lines of the town or the surrounding farms, but artisans of all trades live in New Carlisle, and work in adjoining cities.
That the little town of New Carlisle was to be going concern, seemed apparent from the first. It was a natural sequence of events that made the people use the heavy growth of timber to the best advantage. There were two copper shops, one near Timothy Road, on the north side of Michigan Street, run by Chris Raburn, a German immigrant, who made barrels. The other one was run by Fred Huffman in the brick building owned by Carl Zahl that still stands at the foot of Michigan Street.
Raburn hired about twenty men. They made lard tierces, pork barrels and canes for the stock buyers. The stock buyers of that day were a colorful group of men. They rode on their ponies and an emblem of their trade was a cane and a big hat. These men could ride into a field or a pen and by poking the can into a cow or horse, evaluate the animal at once.
Blacksmith shops flourished where gaily colored cars now stop to fill up with gas. One was as far west as the Fred OLaughlin property on Michigan Street. George Casadays great grandfather, George Miller was in partnership with Charles Buhland in this location.In those days every blacksmith had a wood worker in his establishment as wagons, hayracks and bob sleds were made by hand. On the Joe Massey property, at the southeast corner of Michigan Street and Timothy Road, Isaac Wilder and Elisha Stevens prosperous smithy. The man who shod horses had to be an expert at handling animals.
Isaac Vail, son of Charles and Olive Vail, was 18 years old at the time of the Civil War. His parents, being Quakers, did not believe in war. So they sent their son to Otterville, Canada, where he stayed until he was 21. Here he learned the trade of building wagons. Upon his return from Canada, he went immediately to LaPorte and enlisted.At the close of the war, he worked at Studebakers, later going to partnership with Lewis Casaday. "Ike", as he was commonly known, made wagons and Lewis Casaday was the blacksmith. Their shop was on the southeast corner of Arch and Michigan Streets.
Mr. Casaday later invented the South Bend chilled plow that made him a multimillionaire. Over the years Frank Bleasdale, Sr., John Ordung, Charles Baer and James Perry served the community as blacksmiths. In 1955, Mr. Perry sold his business to William Martensen, who named it New Carlisle Iron Company. The village blacksmith is only a tradition today.
INCORPORATION OF THE TOWN
On June 7, 1866, Samuel C. Lancaster and thirty-one others, filed with the board of county commissioners, a petition for the incorporation of the town, and the board fixed June 30, 1866, for an election to determine the question. On September 4, 1866, the report of the election was filed with the county board, and it showed forty-four votes for incorporation and six against it. There upon the board entered an order incorporating the town, under the name of New Carlisle.Officers of the original town board were, Treasurer, Clerk, Marshall and Assessor. The first trustees received $1.50 for service actually performed on streets, sidewalks and alleys. In 1871, Mr. F. D. Warner was Town Clerk. The original town limits were bounded by Front street, Timothy road, Chestnut street and Cherry street.
ORIGINAL WARDS OF THE TOWN
The five wards of the town were established December 19, 1866. First ward was all that part of New Carlisle lying west of Race street to Arch street and north of chestnut street to the boundary line. The second ward lay between Arch street and Filbert street and north to Chestnut street to the boundary.
The third ward was between Filbert street and Cherry street and north of Chestnut street to the boundary line. The part of town lying between Cherry and Bray street and north of Chestnut street to the boundary line, constituted the fourth ward. The fifth was all that part of town lying west of Bray street and north of Chestnut to the boundary. Each of the wards extended to the center of the streets.
THE MAIN STREET
In the Spring and the Fall, the main street of New Carlisle was a mud hole. Horses sunk deep in the mire. The horse manure lay in piles along the road and the flies were thick. Saturday was farmers day. The rutted street was crowed with rigs of all sorts. Buggies, lumber wagons and carts were fastened to the hitching posts, where horses stamped and switched at the flies. No one was in a hurry. On the sidewalks, groups talked endlessly, sometimes even in the street leaning against the wagon wheel.
The Indians came to town, too, with big earrings thrust through their tawny ears, selling baskets and a few trinkets. By the town ordinance No. 10, property owners were informed that by June 1st, 1868, plank sidewalks were to be built not less than 4 ft. wide, of good, new lumber, not less that 1-1/2" thick, and more than 8 inches wide to be laid crosswise, or not less than 4x4 inches. The inside line of the walk to be laid 2 feet from the line of the lot.
The walk commenced at the northeast corner of Michigan and Arch streets and ran west to the west line of Incorporation, and commencing at the southwest corner of Michigan street and the northeast corner of lot No. 1 and ran west to the east line of the College grounds. After the sidewalks were laid, an ordinance (No. 11) was passed, stating that any horse, mule, sheep or hog found running at large in any of the streets or alleys would be impounded in the public pound.
The Marshall was paid 50 cents for each animal for the trouble and expense of advertising. If the animal was a hog or a sheep, the charge was 20 cents per day for feed. For an ox or cow, it was 50 cents per day. Any person other than the Marshall was entitled to receive 10 cents for the animal taken up.
The first brick or concrete walks were built in 1877, and in 1908, a brick pavement was laid by hand from Arch street to Meridian street. It was not until 1929, that the hitching posts had to be removed. Who planted the beautiful maple trees on either side of the main street is unknown to present day residents, but the trees came from Newton Millers woods, south of town, in 1877.As the town grew, many business firms took shape. For the most, they were substantial citizens and left their mark on the thriving young community. While some of the buildings still stand, others have been destroyed by fire or have been replaced by more modern structures.
Frank Tappan, a brick mason who reached the age of one-hundred years, built all of the older brick buildings in New Carlisle. He had lived in the town more than seventy years, when he passed away at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Maggie Elliot in April, 1953. The first store, aside from the trading post of Lazarus Bourissa, was supposed to have been owned by a Frenchman by the name of John Phelan.
George Matthews opened up the second place of business and when he left New Carlisle to become County Auditor, he sold it to Chauncey and Lyman Blair of Michigan City. They placed it under the management of a Brother-in-law, Edward Crosby. The store remained here until 1849.
The Hotel was built in 1838, by Cole Kramer. When it was completed, he sold it to Captain Richard Cramner of New Jersey. It was a large building extending from the southwest corner of Arch street to the ally next to the library. It housed a fine dining room, saloon, barber shop and a gambling room without windows. The grocery stores stayed open until midnight, so the men could shop after the saloons closed.
All travel from Chicago to Detroit was by stage coach and the hotel or (tavern as it was called) was a regular station. There was a livery barn where Clapps store stands and the horses were unhitched in front of the tavern, the coach standing, while the passengers and the drivers ate. The reason the main street is wider at that point was so the huge stage coaches, sometimes drawn by four to six horses, could turn around.
Richard Cramner, operated the tavern for several years and then deciding to be a farmer, he sold the place to Joseph Ivans, another New Jersey man. Joseph Ivans was a jovial, good humored man, tough and witty. His wife, Aunt Sally, as everyone called her, was an excellent cook. The fame at the tavern at New Carlisle spread far and wide. No one was ever turned away. If storms or break downs filled the house to capacity, Joe and Aunt Sally bedded them down on the floor and even though they paid the price of a bed, they left satisfied.
One day in 1842, a stage coach left Chicago in the morning in the care of a special messenger with a shipment of four boxes containing $20.000 in silver dollars aboard. They were destined for payment of troops at Detroit, Michigan. They arrived at New Carlisle shortly before supper. Contrary to the usual custom of unhitching the horses and leaving the coach in front of the hotel, this night, the coach was also taken to the barn. The theft of the money was almost immediately discovered and the towns people were shocked and angry to have their houses, barns and even their wells and cisterns carefully searched.
No trace of the money was ever found, however. Joseph and Charles Ivans, father and son, were both ordered to appear before a Federal Judge in Detroit, as witnesses. But the mystery was never solved. After the completion of the Michigan Central Railroad from Detroit to Michigan City, the stage coaches made less frequent trips and the hotel business was no longer so profitable. Nevertheless, it continued to operate under different owners until it burned in 1913.
Frank Hunt opened a dry goods store in 1839, but the next year he moved to Valparaiso,Indiana. Soon after, John Mabey of New York State came and occupied the vacant rooms. After his death, his widow attempted to run the business, but having no business education, she was forced to take a partner, Theodore Borden. Jeremiah Service bought Mrs. Mabeys share and the store was known as Service and Borden.
Firms engaged in the dry goods trade, previous to the Civil War, were Joseph Druliner, Jon and Gabriel Druliner, Service and Son, Trowbridge and Service and Denio and Service. Thomas J. Garoutte bought Mr. Services interest in the firm of Trowbridge and Service and later acquired Mr. Trowbridges interest.Dr. Josephus Davis dry goods store was in the Davis building, two doors left of the New Carlisle Lumber and Coal Company. He was not only a medical doctor but a dentist as well. Above his dry goods store, he maintained his doctors office.
When Grover Cleveland was president, the doctors son John became the postmaster. Dr. Davis built a one story addition, twenty feet long in the back of his building and the post office was moved there. Mrs. Davis was a very kind-hearted woman and whenever she heard of one of her husbands patients that was in need, she would go quietly down to his store and help herself to any merchandise that would serve her purpose. Her philanthropies became too great for the good doctor that he finally gave up in despair and disposed of the store.
John Hay, a Civil War veteran, ran a mens clothing store in a building that stood next door west of the Public Library. Major Walker built the brick building as it now stands. The only clothing store in the town today is owned by Mrs. John Hauser and son James.The townspeople have always been particularly dressed. Situated so near Chicago, South Bend and LaPorte, they have never been "countrified", but always followed the fashions of the larger cities. Other dry good stores, too numerous to mention, came and went including Davison and Porter from LaPorte, Ed Danielson and Charles Phillips.
Millinery stores did a thriving business selling hand made hats. Eva Hooten (later Mrs. Henry Wethered) ran the Ladies Bazaar. Along with her hats, she carried a stock of corsets, zephyrs, and did dress making too. Later, Mrs. Sue Sutherland, Mrs. Wallace and Mrs. Charles Ashcraft ran millinery shops. A lady in those days was not properly dressed for the street without a hat and gloves.
The first record of a "beauty parlor" was in 1885. Mrs. J. Hefty, the proprietor, advertised that any lady wishing switches or any other kind of hair work done, should call and look over her fine assortment of goods. Pearl Fowler was the first beauty operator who dared venture to give the permanent wave in New Carlisle. Taking about six hours and twenty-five dollars, it was considered well worth it. Violet Hausenecht was in business on the corner of Front and Filbert streets, Rachel OLaughlin had a shop over McMullins store and Phyllis Hensel maintained a shop for several years.
The town now boasts of four modern beauticians and a weekly appointment is a "must" in the busy schedule today. The Mirror Beauty Salon, owned by Martha Boutin and the Laurey Shop, owned by Loretta Laurey, are located on Michigan street. The Emma Louise Beauty Shop, and Luciens on Front street are owned respectfully by Mrs. Paul Bates and Mrs. James Clark.
The first harness shop was started by Hiram Barrett in 1856. Unfortunately he was related to a family named Akins. Robert Akins was arrested for counterfeiting and the disgrace proved too much for Mr. Barrett, so he closed the shop and returned to his native state, Ohio.Sam Lancaster, in partner-ship with William Wair, soon opened a new harness shop, but in a few years, Lancaster bought out the interest of his partner and continued for many years. He built the house on the northeast corner of Michigan and Bray streets, and became one of the most influential men in the building of this fine community.
Myra, his wife, was a very beautiful and gracious lady. They adopted two children, Inez and Rolla. Inez married Charles White and passed away at an early age. Mr. Lancaster was elected Justice of the Peace in 1861, and held the office continuously for more than 25 years. Finally he sold his business of harness making to Charles Carney. When "Charlie" Carney passed away, the old trade died with him in New Carlisle.
A cabinet and furniture store was opened by Mowry and Herpolsheimer in 1856, when furniture was nearly hand made. It was a custom in those days to have along with such an establishment, the undertaking business, as it was then called. Coffins were hand made of wood, generally walnut, and so in this first shop, Charles Herpolsheimer gave his attention to furniture and Mr. Mowry managed the undertaking department.
The next undertaker was James S. Parnell, followed by Louis Argerbrite, Henery Wethered, Cutler and Son, Robert Cutler, and Robert Doyle. At present, Homer Amen and Son, Robert, maintain a funeral home on the southwest corner of Chestnut and Filbert streets. On the northeast corner of Michigan and Arch streets, stood a small frame building owned by Jacob B. Warner. At first he ran a grocery, boot and shoe store, but in 1853, he established the first drug store.
Dr. Tense Massey opened a drug store in 1867 in the Peters building and was in business for over twenty years. In the meantime, the building owned by Mr. Warner was moved to the northwest corner of Michigan and Arch street and enlarged to make room for the post office. His son, Francis D. Warner bought it and in 1874, it was replaced by a two story brick building. The west room was T.J. Garouttes dry goods store and the east room was used for a drug store.
The Warner Drug Store was sold to Lory J. and Daisy Stinchcomb Graffort who later sold it to Kellogg Drug Company from Knox, Indiana. In June, 1949, Glen and Winnie Watson of LaCrosse, Indiana purchased the building and the business. They remodeled the west side and opened a gift shop there.William VanAiken opened the first store that dealt exclusively in groceries in 1859. It was a risky step in the days of the general store. In 1862, he sold his store and home to E.C. Taylor who continued this business until his death.
Edward Harris was very successful in this line, having an enviable reputation for honesty and fairness. He was in business for 60 years. Daniel White and Stephen Tappan entered the grocery business in 1878. After a few years, Dan White took over. He was in business 35 years.Every store had a pot-bellied stove and a box full of ashes or sand for the convenience of the tobacco chewing customers. Politics and other topics of the day were discussed and settled as the men sat and waited for their women folks to finish shopping.
Huge barrels of crackers, pickles and brown sugar stood open. The children would hand the clerk a penny and they were free to put their hands in the barrel of brine and extract the pickle of their choice. The stores stayed open in the evening, dimly lighted by kerosene lamps.There have been other grocery stores including the Curry Brothers, James and Michael, Charles Hauser and his son John, Rue Green, Howard and Lissa Brockway, Lute Bruch, Jake Miller and George Green. Today there are four grocers in New Carlisle; W.C. Taylor, Clyde Clapp, Chester Jones, and James Horvath.
In the early 1900's, Mr. Elra Rapp built the building where the Home Café is located. He opened a general store and did a flourishing business for many years. Ellen and Frank Bleasdale followed Mr. Rapp in the same line of business until Mr. Voorheis opened a restaurant on the site. It has continued as a restaurant with Seymore and Nina Fradenburgh, Orville Swartz and the present owner, Bernard Streeter.
Mr. and Mrs. Earl McMullin and their children, Robert and Jane, moved to New Carlisle from South Bend, November 1, 1938, and opened a department store. At the death of Mr. McMullin in 1949, Robert, the son, became a partner in the business.Around 1861, a small hardware and implement store, stood on Main street. The basement had a dirt floor and the first floor was divided through the center, with farm implements on the west side and hardware items on the east side.
Some years later the manager, a man by the name of Thompson, was on the verge of bank-ruptcy. He contacted Mark Brummitt, who in partnership with his father, William, bought the business. In the course of a few years, the old original building was moved back to the alley and a new addition was built on the front. It was known as the Brummitt Mercantile Company.
Pete Hoffman was the tinner, At the then exorbitant salary of $12.00 a week, for a ten hour, six day week, he put in his time in the long cold winter months, building tea kettles and wash boilers by hand, to be sold in the spring trade. He also invented an ingenious device he called a fly trap. They were placed along the side walks and were a great help in those days of poor sanitation, when most of the food in stores were sold from open boxes or barrels.
About 1890, William Brummitt retired and Arthur Brummitt went into the business with his brother Mark. The store was then called The Bummitt Hardware Company. There was a private bank in New Carlisle known as the Service and Son Bank. This with the dry goods store and shoe store was housed in a frame building on the site of the First National Bank. But they had no real banking facilities.
The Brummitt Hardware Company carried an open account in Chicago and paid bills thru draft on a Chicago bank. D.S. Scoffern ran the grain elevator. One day he came up and made a deposit with the Hardware. Thomas C. Wright, who ran a saw mill, followed suit and many others, until the Hardware had to open up a set of books. The ceiling in the Hardware Store was made of corrugated iron. Arthur Brummitt, Sr. and his wife lived in an apartment over the store. Although they locked the money in a huge safe, there was always the possibility of a robbery. So Mr. Brummitt had a hole cut through the ceiling of the store and the floor of the apartment directly over the safe. The hole in the ceiling of the store was covered with a screen, so it was not noticeable from down stairs.
A trap door was built into the floor in the apartment and lined with felt. In this opening, lay a double barreled shotgun, loaded with buckshot. Although no one attempted to rob the bank, the money was safe-guarded at all times. In 1898, the Service Bank burned to the ground and in 1900, the banking facilities were moved out of the Hardware.
January 7, 1912, Ella and Fred Zeck purchased the business from Mark Brummitt and continued to carry on with integrity and honest dealings, until April 11, 1924, when W.M. Hass and Associates bought them out.William M. Hass, "Bill", as he was affectionately known, was a cool headed and pleasant man, a rugged individualist, with the courage to undertake any project he believed in. He brought out his words in a terse, strait fashion, that gave you confidence in the man at once. Although he never lived in New Carlisle, his influence in the community was felt from the beginning of his investments here.
Mr. Hass put his brother-in-law, Joseph Ekstrom, in charge of the store and lumber yard. Ward Smith went to work for the Company and had been with them 36 years. The Ekstroms were a fine family. Prominent in church work and civic activities, they soon became an integral part of the community. Ill caused Mr. Ekstrom to resign and Lon Moore became manager. He was in charge five years and during this time the first New Carlisle Lumber Company Addition speculative houses was built on U.S. 20, east of New Carlisle.
Carl Ekstrom, one of Joseph Ekstroms sons, established his own business in 1946, a furniture and appliance store located on Michigan street. They lived in the old Lindahl home on Chestnut street. Ann-Nita Ekstrom, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Carl Ekstrom won numerous Baton Twirling Championships. At the age of 15, she became Senior National Champion and was named to the 1955 Hall of Fame for Twirlers.
Edwin A. Penick was transferred to New Carlisle on July 13, 1950, from the Walkerton Lumber Company, a Hass owned organization. He was a gentle voiced, courteous man. A native Steuben County, he came from a long line of sturdy Hoosiers. Under his direction, the Vogler Addition and Sunny-crest were opened, streets laid out, trees planted and new modern homes were built.
In February, 1951, Lon Moore, with George Hancz, organized the H and M. Construction Company. After building five scattered houses, they developed a Livelsberger Addition in the west end of town. They built more than 75 houses. Other hardware stores were in business for a while in New Carlisle. Among them; Egbert and Compton, The Burden Brothers and the Lindahl Hardware, but their business was gradually absorbed into the one store and lumber yard.
Charles Bates also had a small hardware store for a few years on Michigan street. He held a unique position in the community. He served on Jury duties nineteen times. He did not believe in capital punishment and in no instance would he waiver from his convictions. He was a staunch Democrat and served nine years as Postmaster under Woodrow Wilson. He was the father of Ben, Elves and Paul Bates and Ruth (Bates) Hauser.
Not the least of the hardships of the pioneers was the procuring of bread. Soon after New Carlisle became generally settled, enterprising men were ready to embark in the milling business. The first flour mill was that of Joseph Druliner, who later sold it to Thomas Sancomb. The mills capacity was limited to ten or twenty barrels per day.Milling was profitable at that time, so Morton and Brown erected a three story mill just north of the pumping station, on Michigan street. This mill was equipped with machinery to grind and blend winter and spring wheat, and had a capacity of fifty to sixty barrels a day.
This mill was sold to James Reddington and son, Ora. It burned, and Reddington built a mill on south Arch street. Later he sold this mill to O.H.Massey, who in 1933 sold out to Carl and Alma Zahl, after operating the forty barrel flour mill for 26 years. In 1938, the flour business slowed down on account of bread delivery to farms and the feed business started to replace some of the flour sales.
In 1944, the flour mill was dismantled and the feed mill took its place. On account of a short age of feed grain storage, the Farmers Grain Company was purchased from Ida Wenger and from 1944 to 1949 this was used to ship farmers grain such as wheat, beans and oats. The corn and grain yields per acre increased considerably do to scientific farming taught in G. I. classes every year after the World War II.
In 1949, it was necessary to build a larger 20,000 bushel capacity elevator in addition to the old elevator of 10,000 bushel capacity, with a grain dryer to take care of the ever growing corn yields. In 1952, the feed mill on Arch street was discontinued and replaced by a modern feed mill, 50 feet east of the new elevator, operated separately in order to use the elevator for shipping purposes only, which amounts from two to three hundred box cars per year. The old cooper shop was purchased in 1953, to be used for feed and fertilizer storage. This business now employs five men besides Mr. and Mrs. Zahl.
The original elevator was in the top of the old depot. It had a trestle narrow gauge track built on the back. A farmer would dump his grain in a little car, tie a rope on it and hitch his team on. The car holding about 20 bushels would then be carried up to the grain bin. This provided inadequate as more land came under cultivation and a new elevator was built by Pears East Grain Company of Buchanan, Michigan. Dick Scoffern and later Wm. (Boots) Reinhart managed it.
When Mark Brummitt left the Hardware store, a stock company was formed known as the Farmers Grain, with Mr. Brummitt as the first manager. Eventually Clyde Bean bought it. William Miller and the misses Ida and Belle Wenger ran it for many years until finally it passed into the hands of the present owners, Carl and Alma Zahl.One of the chief attractions in New Carlisle was the livery barn. Until the day of the automobile, it was one of the most important businesses. Nearly every home had its own barn, but some townspeople kept their horses in the livery stable. Horses and buggies were for hire at any time, day or night. On Sunday it was the custom to hire a livery rig for a drive through the country. The carriages were all different. On some of the finer ones it was not unusual to have a bit of scenery or fine striping painted on the body. In the winter, cutters and sleighs replaced the carriages. When farmers came to town in winter, the team was often put in the livery barn. The children who drove a horse and buggy to school put the horse in the livery barn for five cents a day if they brought their own feed.
Among the old timers who ran livery stables were Ol Hullett, Milt Stinchcomb, Ed White and Sam Lauver. The barns were located on the south of E. Michigan street. Two of the buildings still stand, owned by Leon Kelley, farm implement dealer.After the advent of the automobile, the livery barns were replaced by garages. Ray Evans was the first to venture in this precarious business. There were so few cars that people fortunate enough to own were quite willing to pay for keeping their car in a heated building. Anti-freeze was unknown so the radiator had to be drained each night during cold weather.In later years, Andrew Gould, Frank Fisher and Orville Smith were in business. At present John Barnhart runs a Ford Agency and Ernest Meyers the Chevrolet Agency.
The first record of a saw mill in New Carlisle, was the Ewers Mill. This stood at the foot of the hill behind the George Sharp property. In the Autumn of 1880, Oren Tippy and Samuel Miller bought the Ewers Mill. It consisted of a saw mill and planning mill, and had a large unused space in a two story building adjoining the saw mill. The second story and a part of the first were transformed into a planning mill and broom handle factory.
Every winter the mill yard and adjoining lots and streets were piled high with logs brought in by farmers. There were long ranks of basswood bolts to be cut into broom handle squares. A half million broom handles were turned during the late spring and summer. For two or three winters the saw mill was run at night, at the height of the season, to relieve the congestion of logs. Mr. Tippy managed the mill and did the head sawing himself, except when there was a night shift, Mr. Miller bought and sold lumber, measured logs and kept the books.
Mr. Tippy was a skillful manager of men, fair to them and one with them in work. He could always cut two or three thousand feet more a day than any sawyer he could get. The profits of the business depended largely on his knowledge and skill.Two of the Tippy boys became important industrialists. Bruce Tippy was a gas engineer and had a chain of municipal gas companies. Charles was vice president and general manager of the Consumers Power Company of Michigan. They had power dams and municipal utilities all over Michigan. The big dam on the Manistee River is named for Charles Tippy. Worth Tippys record was told in Whos who in America.
Worth Marion Tippy, Clergyman; b. Larwill, Ind., Nov. 8, 1866; s Oren and Mary Isabel (Carder) T.; Ph B., DePauw U., 1891; Cornell U., 1891-93; grad. Student Sage Sch. of Philosophy; D.D.., DePauw, 1907, Baldwin U., 1907; m. Zella B. Ward, of Vevay, Ind., May 16, 1895. Ordained M. E. ministry, 1893; pastor Dryden, N.y., 1892, Lafayette, Ind., 1893-94, Oxford, Ind., 1894, Centenary Ch., Terre Haute, 1895-1900, Broadway Ch., Indianapolis, 1900-1904, Epworth Memorial Ch., Cleveland, 1905-15, Madison ave. Church, New York, 1915-17; Exec. Sec. Comm. On the Ch. And Social Service of the Federal Council of Chs. of Christ in America, Feb. 1917-. Fiest Sec. Meth. Federation for Social Service, 1908, v.p., 1910; univ. preacher, Indiana U., Cornell U., Lake Erie Coll., Mt Holyoke Coll; lecturer Boston U., Sch. of Theology, Oberlin Sem., Dowds Foundation (Ann Arbor), Iliff School of Theology (Denver). Mem. Delta Kappa Epsilon Fraternity. Clubs; Nat. Arts Clergy (New York); University (Washington) Author; The Socialized Church, 1909; 1955, Dean of Archive, DePauw; The Church a Community Force, 1914; The Church in the Great War, 1918, Afterglow, 1955. Home: Laurel, Mississippi. Source; Whos who in America, 1926-27.
Prior to 1870, New Carlisle had no fire protection and a very scant water supply. There were only three to four wells in town. They were very deep and their maintenance was expensive. Finally it was decided to sink a well 12 ft. in diameter and 28 ft. deep. It was found this did not furnish a sufficient supply of water, so 6 inch drive wells were sunk to a depth of 128 ft.
A petition signed by more than five- eights of the property owners of New Carlisle was presented to the board of trustees, asking that a loan not exceeding $6,000.00 be made for the construction of a system of water works for the town. The board of trustees appointed Josephus Davis, Sam Lancaster and Isaac Vail, as a committee an behalf of the town to negotiate a contract and receive bids for the erection and construction of a water works system to consist of a well tank tower, well windmill pump. It was approved February 3, 1879, and located at the west end of Front street on a lot owned by John Stevens and was about 45 ft. high. The tower was of brick and the tank was of wood. It would hold approximately 2500 barrels of water. When filled, it provided gravity pressure. When necessary, the pumps, operated by steam power, provided additional pressure. Wooden mains were laid in the streets and some are still in use.
Bonds were issued for the purpose of defraying the expense of the construction of a new reservoir in the year 1927. It was located north and west of Front and Bray streets. A pair of 1000 watt lamps on top of the municipal water tower were installed for the guidance of airplanes. July 1, 1929, New Carlisle entered into a contract with Northern Indiana Public Service for the supply of gas to the town.
The old pump repair-shop building was found to be a nuisance and detriment to public health and ordered torn down June 1, 1931. As the water load increased with the population, a 12 inch well 198 feet deep was driven in 1952, directly west of the Elementary school. By 1955, 60,000 gallons were kept stored by the reservoir and 5,000 in the stand pipe. 90,000 gallons were pumped every day in winter and 175,000 to 200,000 gallons a day in summer. The water was metered and charged according to the amount used.
A permit was granted to the Central Union Telephone Company on March 21, 1898, to place telephone poles and fixtures necessary for supplying public communication by telephone. By June 1902, the South Bend Home Telephone Company maintained a telephone and telegraph service in the town, with Elias Meyers as manager. The United Telephone Company now maintains service here.
On March 1898, sealed proposals were received at the town clerks office for installation of an electrical light plant. E.L. Maudlin and James Catterlin were the committee. On November 7, 1905, the question of whether the town of New Carlisle should erect an electric light plant was submitted to the qualified voters of the town at a general election. They voted in favor of the said proposition, but nothing was done. However they did install a dynamo in the pump house and manufactured their own electricity. James Ayres Bates was the first engineer.
When the South Shore Electric Railroad was completed in the spring of 1907, the town purchased electricity from them. The current was weak and the lights flickered and were turned off early. Beginning in 1922, electrical power was purchased from the Indiana and Michigan Electrical Company. Every meter, motor and transformer in the town had to be replaced by one able to carry higher voltage. The water and electric system was operated for years by one man, Elias Ackley, who was also the town marshal and superintendent of the street department.
No history of New Carlisle would be complete without the mention of Elias "Pucket" Ackley, fearless and on the job 24 hours a day. He would dismiss lightly a reference to his heroism under fire in a gun battle with desperate bank bandits in 1927. He preferred to tell about the time his father Jacob Ackley, who had been town marshal, locked a preforming bear and its gypsy trainer in the town jail. A band of gypsies had camped on the out-skirts of town. While the bear danced in the street, the gypsies were busy stealing from the crowd. After a night in the cell, they agreed to take their clever pet and get out of town.
The first marshal was Jonathan Compton and he was a fine guardian of the law. Among others were "Ike" Vail who served for 20 years, Frank Quay and Ray Smith. The town now has three policemen - Richard Smith, Dee Brown and Walter Hughs.The first town hall was a brick two story structure on Michigan street, east of Arch street. The first floor served as a hose house and a jail. Hoboes would stay in the jail for days at a time. They were allowed to cook, as there was a small stove there. The offices of the town hall were on the second floor. It wasnt necessary for the town clerk to be in the office every day. When electric lights came, the town clerk read the meters.
The building was torn down in 1946. A new town hall was built on Arch st. in 1949, at a cost of $25,000. It houses the fire department, the jail and public offices. Mrs. Mildred Jettner was the first town clerk to serve in the new building.
ELIMINATION OF THE "DEATH CROSSING"
The completion of the viaduct in 1927, marked the culmination of efforts begun more than ten years before by New Carlisle residents to eliminate the already famed "death crossing" over the New York Central tracks. At first the idea met with opposition and was taken to court where a decision was made but was held up and given extension of time during the war.
About the same time, the town council in forced an ordinance requiring all trains approaching New Carlisle to slow down to a speed of eight miles, which soon brought a compromise between the railroad company and the county, which now is represented by the viaduct. The approximate cost to the county was $100,000. The subway is electric lighted and the expense is maintained by both the county and the town.
by Jane Hosten
The history of the New Carlisle volunteer Fire Department is as colorful as the fires the firemen fight. A band of civic-minded citizens realized the need of adequate fire protection about 1870, and the tow-wheeled hose cart was purchased. A rope was strung down the tongue of the wagon and pulled by as many men as could be commandered by ringing the fire bell which was placed atop the old town hall. The cart, carrying hose and a few tools, had kerosene torches at the rear.
The chief held on to the back of the cart, ready to couple the hose, and after reaching the fire, used the silver megaphone, hung by the cord to the wagon, to direct operations. A facsimile of the megaphone is still used on the badges of the officers of the Volunteer Fire Department to denote rank.The wooden reservoir was placed on the highest town hill and by gravity pull, furnished the water for the wooden mains. However, later, water was supplied by a steam-operated pump at a pumping station erected at the foot of the town hill. If the alarm sounded at night, the banked fires at the pumping station had to be stoked in the forced draft boilers to raise the pressure. Invariably, the added pressure would break a few of the wooden mains, so it was a constant process of digging up and resetting mains.
In 1880, the first fire department on record was formed, known as the New Carlisle Hose Company. Certain persons who had already petitioned the town board for recognition as a fire company, was received as the fire company of the town. They were to organize in a group, not less than fifteen in number or more than twenty-one able bodied men.
Today the firemen carry membership in the Indiana Firemans Association, and the town pays the insurance premium. Each man receives $10.00 per year and proper fire fighting clothing. The town buys two hundred feet of hose each year. When the firemen go to fight a fire in the county, the water wagon must follow. That carries a capacity load of 800 gallons.
Their equipment includes a 1950 International 500 gallon per minute pumper, which carries 1000 feet of 21/2 inch, 400feet of 11/2 inch and 300 feet of 1 inch booster hose, mounted on reels; a Studebaker 750 gallon capacity water wagon auxiliary pump; a Chevrolet truck with the front-mount pump, owned and maintained by the Olive and Hudson townships and a 1923 International pumper as a standby in case of emergency. Their wearing apparel includes wagon coats, pants, boots, helmets and smoke masks. A resuscitator was purchased by the Lions Club and the fire department with the subscription drive.
The automatic alarm system is controlled at the telephone office and fire station. Although three blocks of wooden mains remain in the town of New Carlisle, which boasts a population of over 1200, the water system is felt to be adequate to meet emergencies. A metal reservoir has replaced the wooden one, a new pumping station and well have been built, but the original pumping station still stands with the wells maintained. Preparations and equipment are kept in readiness at all times incase of a power turn off.
The firemen have always participated in the fourth of July celebration. When the population of New Carlisle was only 500, the celebration included foot races with the hose cart teams from adjoining towns. Since 1947, an annual firemans ball has been held to raise money for the fourth of July. Henry Stockton served 51 years on the fire department. Dean Lauver served for over 25 years, fourteen of those years being spent as chief. He was retired January 1, 1953, due to reaching the retirement age of 55. Harold Roesner succeeded Dean Lauver as chief. Robert McMullin is the present fire chief.
A special election was held on the 25th day of August, 1953, on the question of establishing a sewage treatment works and the issuance of revenue bonds to finance the cost. At this election 281 votes were cast in favor of the project and 91 votes against it. The specifications were prepared and filed by Chas W. Cole and son of South Bend, Indiana, engineers for the town. The H and M Construction Company, and Haines and Haines, of Elkhart, held the contract for construction.
The town issued revenue bonds in the amount of $220,000.00. They had $12,547.00 in the sewer sinking fund to apply on the construction. The bonds were issued in the denomination of $1000.00 and bore interest at a rate of 5% per annum. The first bond matures January !, 1957 and extend over the period to January !, 1983. The town board was Frank Fisher, Ward Cadwell, John Barnhart, Glen Wagner and Mrs. Blanche Luther - Clerk Treasurer. New Carlisle was considered the smallest Indiana community to have a sewage disposal plant.
THE OLD OPERA HOUSE
In 1873, Wm. Deacon and Sam Lancaster built an opera house, on Michigan street, east of Arch street, and equipped with the scenery and chairs. It had a seating capacity of 350 on the main floor and 100 in the gallery. The seats on the main floor could be removed and the floor cleared for dancing. Sam Lancaster conceived and idea to polish the floor. He removed the shoes from a small pony and hitched him to a grindstone. The pony was led around until the floor was as smooth as glass. The old opera house was the center of culture and entertainment for the surrounding country in the horse and buggy days.
New York theatrical companies, in arranging their dates and routes, based their calculations upon the size of a town. In the government report of the census of 1870, the population of New Carlisle was 550. Some dramatic agent erroneously copied it as 5500. This gave New Carlisle the benefit of some very fine entertainment, as in most instances the actors did not discover the mistake until they were off the train and all they could do was to make the best of it and put on the show. They put on such plays as "Uncle Toms cabin", "Ten nights in a bar room" and "Rip Van Winkle."
In the lean years after the Civil War, many professional people could get no work in the cities so they drifted into the small towns. A relative of the Ivens family, who was an actor, came home and organized a group of talent. They produced some excellent plays. Basketball, roller skating and sport events, as well as Farmers institutes were held there.
The first class, graduating form New Carlisle High School, held their graduation exercises there in 1883. There were only four students. Due to the lack of a school auditorium, exercises for both high school and eighth grade were held there until 1910. Eventually new kinds of amusement took the place of the old. There was no longer a need for the opera house and it was abandoned.
On February 14, 1938, Wm. H. Hass and his associates, purchased the building from the estate of William H. Stites and used it for a warehouse. Making way for progress, the last New Carlisle land mark was torn down in 1953, to be replaced by a new building, modernly equipped for business.
In 1844, Dr. John Davis, Sam Bates, Lew Mowry, George (Shorty) Vincent, Burr Casaday, Lewis Trowbridge, and Jim and Bert Hooten organized the Seymore ball club. They bought four acres from the Ivena farm, on the south side of Chestnut street. They purchased lumber for $8.00 a thousand and built an eight foot fence around the entire field.
It was the day of the dedication of the new ball park. The band, directed by Mr. Culveyhouse, from Rolling Prairie, was resplendent in their blue uniforms. The boys on the ball team had gone to a lot of work and spent money to bring about this great day in the history of New Carlisle. They had challenged the Maple Leaf ball team from Canada to play and as they marched up the street behind the band, with an admiring crowd in their wake, they felt confident that they were about as good as any team in the country. But alas, much to their chagrin, they went down in defeat. The next year they sold the park to be used as a fair ground.
ELMER MOFFITT, THE BIG STAR
Veteran followers of sports will remember Elmer Moffitt. He got his start in professional baseball in 1903 with the South Bend Central League team. At the end of 1906, Moffitt was sold by South Bend to the Toronto team in the international league and a couple of years later pitched one of the most remarkable games ever recorded in minor league history. Pitching against Syracuse team, Moffitt was hit for a single on the first ball he pitched to the first Syracuse batsman in the first inning. From then on until Toronto finally won the game one to nothing, in the fourteenth inning, not a Syracuse batsman reached first base.
Moffitt retired 42 consecutive Syracuse hitters without issuing a pass or hitting a man, and not one error was made by his supporting cast. Soon after that, his arm gave out and he eventually retired from professional ball. He died in 1944.
THE FIRST FAIR
The farmers of Olive Township dissatisfied with the county fair, claiming the horse men had control and gave more attention to sports than to agricultural products. A similar condition existed in Wills, Pleasant and Hudson Twp. of LaPorte Co. and they joined with Olive Twp. in organizing a local fair. James Dunn of Warren, Squire Hale of Hudson and Wm. proud of Pleasant Townships, were active in this organization.
A large circus tent and several smaller ones housed the exhibits of poultry, farm products and agricultural implements. The women pieced quilts, canned fruits, made jellies, pickles and preserves, worked for weeks perfecting their favorite recipes of bread, cakes and pies with the hope of carrying off first prize.
The fair opened for three days in September 1885. No admission was charged, as all premiums ans expenses were borne from funds provided by the business men. The fair was such a success that permanent buildings were erected and a quarter mile race track laid out.
A catalog was printed and the cost defrayed by advertising. The advertising was sold to South Bend, New Carlisle and LaPorte business firms. Studebakers, Olivers, and South Bend Chilled Plow brought their own exhibition, tents and helpers. Other firms in South Bend and LaPorte were exhibitors of merchandise while every home merchant made a credible showing. Many of the exhibitors gave something from their lines as additional premiums.
While the merry-go-round and the shooting gallery were enjoyed, the races were the greatest attraction of the fair. On the last day of Clem Studebaker always made his appearance with some of his friends in a tallaho coach. Every year he gave a sulky as a prize for the fastest race horse. This fair was discontinued about 1895. The school in recent years, have fairs under the direction of the Future Farmers Club and they are very successful.
Early in 1868, Elder Ira J. Chase, of Mishawaka, Indiana, at the request of two or three resident disciples, began a series of sermons, assisted by W.M. Roe, pastor of the Christian Church of Rolling Prairie. At first the services were held in the Collegiate Buildings, but arrangements were made for erecting a house of worship. The building was finished during the winter of 1870, at a cost of $2,500.00. Reverend Ira Chase was called a Pastor.
On June 28, 1926, a committee consisting of W.P. Bailey, Reverend C. V. Bigler, Mrs. Ada Brummitt, Mrs. Mary E. Compton, Edward S. Danielson, Dr. H.M. Hall, John I. Hoke, Mrs. M.G. Mitchell, Mrs. Ethel Staley, C.R. Young, principal of the school, and Reverend Raymond S. Zerby, with Worth M. Tippy, as counselor, met to discuss the merger of the Methodist Episcopal Church with the Christian Church, into a Community Church. Mr. Charles K. Anderson, of Chicago and Mr. W.F. Harrah, of Niles, Michigan, expressed a desire to contribute to the erection of a suitable building.
After considerable discussion by both church boards, they felt it wise to drop the whole matter, feeling that the two churches in a cooperative program could meet the communities religious needs as well as the proposed union church and yet command a larger field for volunteer workers on the part of the people.
Under the direction of Reverend Raymond L. Zerby, the Christian Church (undenominational) was built on the site of the old Christian Church. The beautiful modern brick building was dedicated December, 1927.
In the early 1930's, the Reverend Alfred Severson and his wife, Maureen, came to New Carlisle. It was during the great depression. Under their direction an undenominational mens club was formed and a youth program, including the girl reserve was sponsored by Mrs. Severson. Mr. Severson is now executive director of the Light house for the blind in Chicago, Illinois.
Dwight William Clark, a member of the church and son of Earl and Glenna Clark, was graduated from the Bob Jones University and became a minister with postorate in Michigan. In 1952, the congregation purchased a $15,000 parsonage, climaxing 25 years of service to the community. The present minister is the Reverend Jay L. Clow.
Pilgrim Holiness Church
The pilgrim Holiness Church, located on the corner of Ada and Arch streets, had its inception about 1902. The building was first located south of New Carlisle and was later moved to town. The present minister is Reverend Clarence Klopfenstein.
The chapel was built by John Reynolds, in the summer of 1887, on the corner of Cherry and Ada streets. It continued until 1908, when it was moved to east Chicago, where it serves today as a place of worship.
by: Maleta Amen
The first Methodist parsonage was built in 1854. J.H. Service donated a lot about one block east of the church. Services were held in the school and the present church was built in 1858, at a cost of $1500. Reverend John R. Eddy was the Pastor. A letter dated September 7, 1859, was sent to the merchants of the New York City soliciting funds for a bell for the church. Fifty dollars was received.
Under the pastorate of G.W. Bowers the parsonage was sold and a new one built on the lot at the rear of the church between the years of 1880 and 1882. The first trustees of the church were W.H. McDaniel, A.H. Pidge and James Egbert. The Womens Foreign Missionary Society was organized in 1871, and continued until1940, when it became known as Womens Society of Christian Service. Mrs. A.E. Murphy, Mrs. Homer Amen and Mrs. Fred Degler were the first presidents.
The Nellie Claypool Circle was named in the memory of the widow of Dr. Ernest Claypool, who was pastor of the church from 1928 to 1930. Their son Dr. James Claypool, author of "God on the Battlewagon", was a chaplain in the navy during World War II and is now an officer of the American Bible Society. W.H. Stites gave $1500 to build a basement under the church.
From this church have gone forth some great Christian leaders, Dr. Worth Tippy, previously mentioned, Dr. Edwin Dunlavy and Mrs. Vivian Proud Burke, who was a missionary to China. Carlyle Saylor is now studying languages, to prepare himself for missionary service in countries where there is no written language. During World War II, the reverend Frank Henninger and family came to New Carlisle. There was a serious shortage of nurses and Mrs. Henninger gave generously of her time and knowledge in the hospitals of South Bend. The present pastor is the Reverend Walter G. Parker.
BRIEF BIOGRAPHY OF EDWIN DUNLAVY
Edwin Wesley Dunlavy, clergyman, educator; b. near Greencastle, Indiana, June 25, 1874; s. Howard Houston and Hannah Elizabeth (Oliver) Dunlavy; A.B. DePauw University, 1900; D.D. from same university, 1920; state and interstate orator of Western Colleges, 1900; spl. research work in sociology, Chicago Training Sch. of Theology 2 years, spl. work in science, Mass. Inst. Tech. during same period; m. Edna Augustine, June 15, 1905 (died Oct. 27, 1942). Associated with Men & Religion Movement in the colleges. Licensed Methodist Episcopal Ministry, 1897; pastor Trinity Ch. Lafayette, Ind. 1911-16, 1st charge Frankfort, Ind., 1916-21; Pres. Iliff Sch. of Theology, Denver, Colorado, 1921-24; pastor Roberts Park Ch., Indianapolis, known as "Mother of Churches", 1924-30, Woodlawn Park Ch., Chicago; pn. Sabbatical leave of absence, 1933; devote time to writing and to lecturing. Lecturer of ednl. and hist. Subjects; special writer various papers Mem. Sigma Nu. Mason (K.T.32 degrees) Clubs Knife and Fork, South Bend, Lions - Home, New Carlisle, Indiana. Whos Who in America Vol 25. Dr. Dunlavy died in his home at New Carlisle, 1953.
Taken from a paper written by Mrs. (Dot) White "New Carlisle can boast of a fine Public Library which was founded in 1902. The sponsors of the library movement were the members of the Carlisle Clover Club, which had been organized in 1897. This club consisted of some 18 or 20 women banded together literary and social purposes.
The idea of the Public Library was conceived in the summer of 1900, when the members felt they wished to be using their organization for a public benefit. In August, 1900. A Library Committee was appointed, consisting of Mabel Deacon (Mrs. Charles Tippy), Daisy Roys, Ella Maudlin, Ada Reinhard, Grace Williams, Inez White, Ada Miller, Martha McCann, Elizabeth Williams, Nellie Taylor and Mary Taylor.
Through the ever persistent effort of the committee, supported by the rest of the Club members, their cherished plans for a Public Library took definite form and the first money raised to go into the Library fund was $8.05, this amount being the proceeds from a "Book Carnival" given in the K.P.Hall. On February 22, 1901, a Washington Tea Party was given and $. 80 was added to the fund.
Then on May 3, 1901, a musical was given by the Ebel Brothers Band which cleared $30.90, thus giving almost $50.00 to begin work with and a soliciting committee received $20.50. In July of that same year "The Womans Club" of New Carlisle invited the Clover Club to a tea and presented 76 volumes. This was the nucleus for the present Library and thus after 18 years of constant nurturing and financing, the C.C. Club in July 1917, formally released all property claims and turned the project over to the New Carlisle and Olive Township Library Board, after receiving an appropriation of $9000 from the Carnegie Foundation.
Through the efforts of Mr. Arthur Brummitt Sr., Arthur L. Hubbard of South Bend gave the Lot on Michigan Street where the modern edifice of tapestry brick, timber and stucco was built. The building was dedicated June 25, 1921, a monument of unselfish interest in the culture of our community.
The first library board consisted of Dr. H.M. Hall, Mr. A. R. Brummitt Sr., Mr. Fred Zeck, Mr. Lot C. Runnels, Mrs. Chas. D. White, Mrs. Wm. Miller and Mrs. Chas. Phillips." From the small beginning of 76 books, it has grown to a library of near 10,000 volumes, serving over two thousand borrowers in New Carlisle and surrounding communities.
It is financed by taxation and a small fee is charged to borrowers living outside of Olive Township. Pupils of New Carlisle school may use the facilities free of charge. The furnishings and many of the books have been donated. The basement is used as a community center.
In front of the library stands the Joseph Edwin Carr Memorial, given by Webster and Inez Carr in memory of their son, Joe. A plaque given by the War Mothers was placed on the building in honor of the soldiers and sailors of World War II. The George Arthur Murphy Memorial is a double section of book shelves filled with books donated by his friends and relatives.
A second plaque was placed in the library in memory of Staff-Sergeant Hugh M. Burch, who was shot down over Korea April 12, 1951, while on his 63rd mission. In the beginning, the members of the Carlisle Clover Club took turns as unpaid librarians. Margaret Miller was the first paid librarian, followed by Dot White. Two librarians have served the community since June 1921, in the new building; Carrie Williams and Kitty Wade.
According to the earliest records, the first school term taught in the village of New Carlisle was in a small pole cabin, just west of the Community Church. A mud and stick chimney in one end of the building with earthen hearth and a fireplace wide and deep enough to receive a four to
six foot log, served for heating purposes. For windows, part of a log was cut into two sides of the building and maybe a few lights of eight by ten glass set in or an opening might be covered with a greased paper.
Writing desks consisted of heavy oak plank laid upon wooden pins driven into the wall. Four legged slab benches were in front of these and the pupils, when not writing, would sit with their backs against the front sharp edge of the writing desk. The floor was also made out of these slabs or puncheons laid upon log sleepers.
An eastern woman, whose name is not known taught the school and Hugh Compton attended there around 1837. The Comptons lived southwest of town and he walked to town through the oak grubs. In those days there were no free public schools supported by taxation. All schools were either subscription or tuition schools.
The next record we find was a school held in a one and a half story building situated a little south and west of the location of the present telephone office. This was called the Carlisle Temple and was used for a school many years. The base of the old chimney remained until the street was graded. Samuel Bates was the teacher. Most teachers of that day were good in some particular branch. Mr. Bates was especially good in mathematics. He solved all mathematical problems by the single and double rule of three.
Captain Day, the next teacher, was a man of mystery. While he was a kind hearted and popular teacher, nevertheless, he also had a strict disciplinarian. He had the bearing and appearance of a military commander. It seemed natural for him to talk of seaport towns all over the world. But where he came from and who he really was is not known. He lies buried in New Carlisles cemetery.
Another teacher was Nathaniel Huntington, who taught school five days a week and practiced law on Saturdays. He moved to Wyoming where he was elected to the State Legislature. John Hastings ended the line of men teachers. It became the custom to have lady teachers in the summer when the girls went to school and men teachers in the winter when the big boys came. A term was generally three months.
In 1852, the first school house was built on the south west corner of Front and Cherry Street. Jeremiah Service deeded to school district No. 3, land for a public school building for the sum of $25.00, and his wife, Sarah Ann, released her dower rights in consideration of ten cents (Lots 29 and 30.)
Ransom Hubbard bought the lots Jan. 15, 1881, and the school building was moved up on Michigan street. It stands today, the second house west of the present school grounds. Prior to about 1865, the State made no provision for education other than that afforded by the district schools.
The Northwest conference of the Methodist Church recognized the need of schools that would provide an academic education and prepare students for admission to colleges, took action for their establishment in North Western Indiana. A meeting of the village people of New Carlisle, was called in December 1860.
The Rev. John Leach presented the advantages and need of a school of this character in this community. The following records were drawn up:"We, the undersigned citizens of New Carlisle, St. Joseph County, Indiana and vicinity, feeling the necessity of a school of a high grade in our midst and that the organization of such a school would not only be of great advantage in the education of our children and increasing the value of our property but also be of great public utility."
"Therefore we agree to organize ourselves in an association for the purpose of establishing an institution of learning at New Carlisle, St. Joseph County, State of Indiana denominated and styled the New Carlisle Collegiate Institute, to have all the powers of seminaries and colleges in prescribing the course of study and conferring degrees and all rights and privileges usually exercised by similar institutions. Said Institute to be under the control and patronage of the Northwestern Indiana Conference of the Methodist Episcopal church and Hamilton, St. Joseph County, Indiana. Provided, that the Institution shall at all times be equally free to all denominations and parties whatsoever as to all its educational privileges and that no effort shall be made at any time to control the religious opinions of any student by any menacing or coercive management whatsoever. It is further agreed that the board shall consist of a President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and eleven Trustees, a majority of whom shall be members of the M.E. Church. It is further agreed the association shall proceed to obtain a suitable sight for the Institution and donations to erect a suitable college building at a cost of from five to ten thousand dollars or more as may be agreed that the association shall have the privileges of creating an endowment fund by the sale of scholarships or otherwise as may be agreed upon if desired. It is further agreed that the school shall be organized and at least one building erected for the purpose written in a period of not exceeding two years."
At the first meeting of the association, Dec. 24, 1860, the following persons were elected as trustees: Isaac Phillips, J.C. Williams, A.H. Pidge, T.J. Garoutte, J.H. Service, J.F. Hoyt, Jesse Oglesby, I.D. Finch, W.H. McDaniel, W.K. White, Samuel Zigler,-At a meeting of the trustees, Dec. 29, 1860, the following officers were elected: John Leach, Pres. J.F. Hoyt, Vice-Pres.: J.H. Service, Treas. T.L. Borden, Sec.-At a meeting of the Board, Jan. 2, 1861, the trustees reported $1,700 subscriptions to build and a donation from Joseph Ivins of two acres of ground for building and fourteen building lots. School commenced on the 24th day of September 1867.
RULES AND REGULATIONS AS SET FORTH IN THE ORIGINAL COLLEGIATE INSTITUTE CATALOG DISCIPLINE
The government of the school will be, as far as possible, strictly parental. The aim will be to secure proper subordination by appealing to the noblest faculties of the mind and the best feelings of the heart.
Punctual and regular attendance at devotional exercises in the morning; attentiveness during recitations; promptness in the duties of declamation and composition; attendance at church on Sabbath and respectful demeanor while there; observance of evening study hours; payment for all damages done to Institute premises; regular attendance of every class unless excused by the teacher.
Gambling; the use of profane or obscene language; the use of intoxicating drinks as a beverage; the use of tobacco within the buildings; the use of gun powder, in any form, on the premises; running, jumping, throwing, loud talking and laughing, slamming of doors and other boisterous conduct within the building; the unnecessary visiting of railroad depot; also loitering about public places in the village; attending dances and places with low amusement; leaving town without permission of teachers; marking or defacing the Institute building or furniture; unkind and indecorous treatment of fellow students and citizens; disrespect toward teachers.
The Institute was situated in the center of a beautiful square, incloses with a picket fence, with an arched gateway and double gates in front, and diagonal corner gates. The building was forty-five by seventy-five feet, constructive of brick with a stone basement and trimmings. On the first floor was a music room, carpeted and furnished, a chapel, forty two and a half feet square, seated with settees, the Primary room, a recitation room and the Business office.
On the second floor was a study room, recitation room, and rooms for laboratory and library. On the third floor were two Society halls with library department adjacent to each. All the windows were balanced on weights and there were open transoms over the doors with ventilators inserted into the walls.
There were four terms of ten weeks each, maintained. The first term commenced September 24, 1861. The tuition for these terms was according to the course pursued. The Primary course cost $2.00; First Academic Department $3.50; and the Second Academic Department was $5.50.
Janitor fees were 25 cents, but for the winter term, owing to the greater amount of fuel required, 25 cents was added to the fee for the primary and 50 cents to the other courses. It was presumed that the upper rooms were harder to heat. The scientific preparatory first and second grades cost respectively $6.50 and $8.00 per term. French, German, music and needlework were extras.
August 10, 1869, a resolution was proposed to transfer the property to the town of New Carlisle, Indiana. March 19, 1872, the issue and sale of bonds for the purpose of purchasing a school building and grounds was authorized, by the town board. Said bonds were issued to the amount of $1100, in accordance with the prayers of the school trustees of New Carlisle, which bonds were for the sum of $100 each with interest at the rate of 10 %, payable annually.
"Excerpt from minutes of the town board." By 1878, the free public school system of Indiana was under way, so the trustees of the Collegiate Institute decided that the conditions that had brought the Institute into existence had changed, so they offered the building to the township, if the township would assume the dept of $1500 on the building.
As there was no law at the time permitting a township to hold property for school purposes in an incorporated town, the township could not take the property. The town of New Carlisle then bought the building and until 1903, the same brick building housed the elementary grades and high school of the town school. At that time, a law was passed making it possible for a township to hold school property in an incorporated town, so the town deeded the school property to Olive Township. Andros Borden was trustee and Arthur Brummitt Sr., was President of the school board.
A full four years course of high school in addition to the grades was added in 1901, and was commissioned in 1902. In 1909, an addition consisting of an auditorium with the seating capacity of three hundred, and rooms for the high school, including a chemistry laboratory, was built east of the old collegiate building and joined to it. B.A. Garoutte was trustee and L.O. DeCamp was principal.
Soon the germ laden drinking cup was replaced by sanitary drinking fountains, modern toilet rooms were placed on each floor and a shower bath in the basement. A regular fire drill was practiced every two weeks and both buildings were emptied in about forty seconds.
The huge cast-iron bell that had called the children to school for 60 years and the increasingly heavy traffic on Lincolnway, gradually weakened the walls of the old collegiate building and in 1922, it was torn down.
The hand hewn timbers were sold to the farmers of the community. Some of the townspeople tried to raise $50 to purchase the old bell, but were unable to do so and it was sold to Saint Cantius Catholic Church at Saugany Lake. The new building contained ten class rooms, four on the first floor, four on the second and a gymnasium and shower rooms in the basement.
In 1936, when Virgil Rodgers was trustee and A.E. (Pat) Murphy, principal, a large gymnasium with shop, home economic and band rooms was erected south of the main buildings. The buildings were connected by a long hall. During this period, visual education became a reality, when the Sigma Chapter of Delta Beta Phi, Parent-teacher Association and Athletic Association gave money for the purchase of the projector.
Mr. And Mrs. A.T. Marvel came to the community about 1943. Mr. Marvel was a big man with a strong hand clasp and a gentle way of speaking. The farms around New Carlisle were so worn out and unproductive that the owners were discouraged.
As an outgrowth of Mr. Marvels contact with the farmers, through his position as an Agriculture teacher in the school; an Adult Farmers Evening School was organized. The Veterans On-Farm Training Class of New Carlisle High School, joined with them in a rapid soil improvement program.
Two things haunted Marvel when he came to this community - one out of every four high school students had false teeth by the time he was 16 years old. He was sure there was some connection between run down land and poor health. Firm in his own convictions, great inspiration came from Mr. Marvel, whose basic belief was, that a mixture of hard work and the right fertilizer could remake Olive Township into the garden spot it was over 100 years ago.
Between 1945 and 1955, there was a growth of about 700% in grain products. From tired lands that hardly returned seed, Olive Township became a "million dollar Township class" in agriculture. The first Indiana University Course was brought to New Carlisle through the efforts of Mrs. McCord Watt and Mrs. Neil Wade, librarian, in Feb., 1952.
A survey of the community to determine if local interest was sufficient to warrant this step in adult education was taken by Mrs. Watt, Mrs. Wade, Webster Carr, New Carlisle School principal, Mrs. Frank Gay, Richard Bunton, Reverend James Manes, pastor of Olive Chapel Congregational Christian Church, Rev. Clarence Klopfenstein, pastor of the Pilgrim Holiness Church, Rev. Paul Shepherd, pastor of the Methodist church and the Rev. George Wright, pastor of the Community Church.
Rabbi Albert Shulman of Temple Bethel, South Bend, Indiana taught the course which was attended by 65 students. It consisted of five lectures on the Old Testament. Registrations, with a fee of $3.00, were made in the New Carlisle Township Library and the lectures were heard in the library basement.
A second course on the New Testament was offered in Sept., 1952, but local interest was not sufficient to sustain the class. A six month course in College Typing with Orrin Shaw, assistant principal of the New Carlisle school, as instructor, was organized in February, 1953. This was a credit course, if desired, and demanded a teacher who held a masters degree. The classes were held in the New Carlisle High School with a fee of $15.00. Classes in Indiana University Extension have continued in New Carlisle since that time. Classes in Indiana University Extension have continued in New Carlisle since that time.
A school survey in 1952, showed the need of additional rooms to accommodate the rapidly increasing school population. Pupils were brought in by bus from Hudson and Wills Townships, LaPorte County and Warren Township in St. Joseph County.
From a population of 983 in the 1950 census, New Carlisle had grown to over 1200. It became necessary to use the library basement and a small cement block building built by the Lions Club, for school rooms.
Under the direction of LeRoy McAllister, the trustee, plans for a new school got under way. The site of the new building was determined approximately 600 feet south of the old building. The original plot was only three acres but additional land was purchased, making twenty eight acres.
A holding company was formed known as The Olive Township School Building Corporation, with Ernest F. Meyers as Chairman, Carl Ekstrom as vice chairman and Bartlette Taylor as Secretary. The board of directors was Steve Cooreman, Oliver D. Proud, Carr V. Rodgers and William Glon. Shares were sold at $25 per share. The amount a tax payer might but was unlimited.
An elementary school building was built at a cost of $450,000. It was a red brick one story structure built in a U-shape, containing 15 class rooms. An all-purpose room, 100 by 120 ft., with a stage at one end and a kitchen at the other end was used as a school cafeteria and for civic banquets. This room has a hard maple floor made of small separate blocks laid in a herringbone fashion and sealed.
The building was dedicated December 12, 1954. At the dedication ceremony, the American Legion presented an American flag and the flag of Indiana. The war mothers gave each room an American flag. The Sigma Chapter of the Delta Beta Phi gave a large painting that hangs in the front corridor.
Webster Carr, a descendant of one of the pioneer families, was the first principal. He was a graduate of Tri State College, Central Normal and Indiana University, from where he obtained his masters degree.
The first teachers to serve in the new school were: Bartlette Taylor, Eleanor DeMarco and Magdalene Taylor, first grades. Martha Holaday, Ann Eslinger, and Marcella Weis, second grades. Dorothy Penick and Olive Hoover, third grades. Thelma Agness and Viola Gay, fourth grades. Iva Fisher and Lala Watson, fifth grades. Alma Owens and Daniel Stoltzfus, sixth grades.
Wonderful changes have taken place since the days of the log school houses, old fashioned fire places, the slab seats, writing desks of broad boards, resting on wooden pins driven in the walls, the goose quill pen and text books such as the parents might furnish from a limited supply of books. People in and around New Carlisle have reason to be grateful for the courage and ingenuity of a teacher who taught at No. 9 school, out on the prairie, six miles from town.
With the exception of a furnace, the building had no modern facilities. A stone crock was filled every morning from an outside pump for drinking water. Outside toilets stood some distance away. It was two oclock in the afternoon of January 22, 1936, when Martha Holaday first noticed the storm. There was no telephone in the school and as the storm increased in violence, she waited anxiously for the appearance of the school bus.
There were forty eight children in the first, second and third grades under her care. Time went on and the children became restless and hungry. A bread truck was stalled in the snow bank almost directly in front of the school. The teacher had fifty cents in her pocket book. Thinking only of the hungry children, she struggled against the wind and reached the bread truck. The bread man gave her fifteen loaves of bread.
In the meantime the bus driver, being unable to reach the school, telephoned the trustee. A grocery store stood on the corner about a quarter of a mile away. The trustee phoned the store and told them to take provisions to the snow bound group. They sent cans of sardines, a fork and a can opener.
The South Bend Tribune reported by radio that the children were safe. However, none of the parents realized what was really happening. The children ate the sardine sandwiches and played games until suddenly one of the little ones became violently ill. Bundling her up in her wraps, the teacher took her by her hand and trudged bravely to the outside toilet. She returned to the warmth of the school room, only to find more with severe stomach cramps. All night, she walked back and forth with the sick children. She did not even have a flashlight. As it happened, there had been no sardines left for her, by the time she fed the forty eight children.
Morning came at last with the snow drifts piled high, as far as the eye can see. The children were somewhat eased at last, so they went to the basement where she shoveled live coals on the floor and toasted the remaining bread for breakfast. At eleven oclock help came. State snow plows followed by the school bus plowed out the country side roads and the sick and weary children were taken home. The school was closed ten days before the storm abated. The unselfish heroism of Martha Holaday will be long remembered.
Part of the culture of New Carlisle has centered around music. Since pioneer days New Carlisle always had orchestras and bands. Concerts in the old opera house and band concerts on the streets or marching bands in the parades were events the people loved.
1935 brought "Limey" Brittain to New Carlisle High School to serve as band master. He married Mary Alice Zigler. Mr. Soldofsky took over in 1941, for one year. He was followed by George Wherry. During this time a referendum was passed by the people to levy tax of 10% of a mill for music.
When Mr. Eslinger took over the band in 1943, there were 15 members attending rehearsals. In the following spring of 1944, he contested a band of 35 members in the Northern Indiana School Band, Orchestra ans Vocal Association Festival. The band grew steadily until it had a membership of 75. By 1955, there was a junior band of 40 members and a beginners band of 30. The High School Band, a highly trained organization, gained great popularity through its championship titles, both in concert and marching performances. Interest in solo and ensemble grew in the community to the extent that in 1955, students from our schools were awarded 119 medals in music.
The New Carlisle Music Boosters Club was organized in 1947, for the purposes of promoting good music. Through the efforts of this club, uniforms were purchased for the band as well as other important equipment. With the help of the Music Boosters Club, New Carlisle was host to the solo and ensemble festival in 1955, at which there were approximately 2500 school musicians participating.
The high school glee club was organized in 1943, with 35 members. It grew in musicianship to the extent of winning top state honors in 1955. Directors were Helen Erickson, 1943 - 1944; Wilbur Eslinger, 1944 - 1950; Barbara Jo Hill, 1950 - 1954, and Helen Shadle. The Music Boosters Club provided new robes and risers for the glee club and assisted with other incidentals.
As early as 1867, an effort was made to provide a place and furnish means for the promotion of athletic sports and other amusements. A group of townspeople organized the New Carlisle Park Association, managed by a board of directors, elected for two years. Stock was sold for $5.00 per share and limited to 100 shares each. Each share holder was entitled to one vote. The dream never became a reality and the association was dissolved.
However, the welfare of our young people has always been foremost in the minds of the townspeople. High ideals and morals built into the lives of our children through organized groups
such as the Standard Bearers, Christian Endeavor, Epworth League, Boy Scouts, Girl Reserve, Girl Scouts and many others have produced out-standing character.
Around 1902, a large tennis court was constructed on the west side of the high school and basketball for boys and girls was organized. The home games were played in the opera house. In 1948, the New Carlisle basketball team known as the "New Carlisle Tigers" with Loyal Marker as coach, won the county tournament for the first time. Their resplendent orange and black uniforms became known all over the county.
After the new Elementary School was built, the American Legion, observation Club and the Lions Club met to form a control group, elect officers and set up a youth program. In cooperation with Donald Wilson, Olive Township Trustee, extensive activities were planned. Individuals, organizations and merchants gave generously of their time and money. A dance was held one evening a week in the all purpose room at the new building. The plans included table tennis, badminton, volley ball, base ball, bridge, dance instructions and social evenings. No age limit was set. Again in 1955, with Marker and Jack Allen as coaches, the "Tigers" won the county tournament, the second time in thirty years.
Talk about a football team started around 1947, when Harry Stoneburner was basketball coach. After years of thinking and planning, Olive Township Trustee Don Wilson Sr., Stoneburner, who became the high school principal, "Jim" Hauser, a New Carlisle merchant and other interested groups forged ahead. Ground was cleared for a field with townsmen donating the labor.
Coach William Lynch came to New Carlisle from Colombus, Indiana High School. Prior to that he was head coach at Knightstown Memorial High school. While most schools devote two years to teaching fundamentals, New Carlisle booked five games for the season. The first practice game was played at 4:00 P.M. September 9, 1955, with Galien, Michigan.
The first scheduled game was played with the Jimtown team, on the Nappanee, Indiana field, at 7:30 P.M. September 17, 1955. New Carlisle won their first football game 13 to 0. End John Bingham had the honor of scoring the schools first touch down, when he took a 15 yard pass from half-back Frank Weisner and ran the remaining 40 yards. Fullback Chuck Kring kicked the extra point. Three plays after New Carlisle kicked off, Stan Dopieralski intercepted at Jimtown pass and ran it back 25 yards into the end zone for the second touchdown.
New Carlisle, has from the time of its beginning, been the town of organizations. Whether this trend came from the desire of the people to have a social life or whether the culture of the community demanded it, cannot be determined. However it may be, many clubs, societies and lodges have flourished here.
A number of lodges have been organized and discontinued. Among them, the Maccabees, New Carlisle Tent No. 2, the second oldest tent in the state, the Womens Benefit Association, the Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen, the Woodmen of the World, the Loyal Americans, Knights of Pythia and the Knights Templars.
Terre Coupe Lodge No. 204 F.&AM, was granted a charter under dispensation, under the hand of Most Worshipful Grand Master, Alexander C. Downey of the Grand Lodge of Indiana, on July 2, 1856.
The Lodge held their first meeting over T. L. Bordens store July 24, 1856, where they continued to meet until 1862. Then they changed the place of meeting to over the store of J.H.Service, where they met until 1862. Then they moved to the second story of the Warner building on the northwest corner of Arch and Michigan streets. The following officers were present:
Abram Pyle................................................Worshipful Master
A.A. Whitlock............................................Senior Warden
J.S. Perkins................................................Junior Warden
Edward Bacon...........................................Senior Deacon
J.C. Williams..............................................Junior Deacon
They were granted a full charter May 25, 1857. A report filed with the Grand Lodge for the period ending May 25, 1857, showed a membership of sixteen. The Worshipful Master, Abram Pyle, as the representative to the Grand Lodge, held May 25, at Indianapolis, reported the favorable reception of the specimens of their work sent, and presented to the Lodge the Charter granted by that honorable body.
James Service was appointed to secure a frame for the Charter and E. Bacon, William White and S.G. Baldwin were appointed as a committee to prepare designs for a seal top be submitted to the Lodge for their adoption. By June 1860, they had 29 members. They charged $1.00 initiation fee, and paid $36.00 a year for rent. Their dues were 50 cents a year.
The Masons are men of prestige and honor and hold strictly to the teachings of the Order. Ray Evans is the oldest living Past Master. The Mens Round Table Brotherhood Club was organized in the New Carlisle Hotel Dec. 1886. After partaking of a daintily served spread of four courses, a business session of two hours would follow. This Club disbanded and re-organized a number of times. The Lions Club of New Carlisle is an outgrowth of this early desire of the men of the town to recognize and meet community needs.
In 1875, the first chapter of the Order of the Eastern Star was instituted under dispensation, but for some unknown reason was discontinued. Then in March 1905, 30 years later, a number of interested persons met to organize the present Chapter of the Order of the Eastern Star. They presented a petition to the Grand Chapter to become a new Chapter, which was granted.
Frank Bleasedale Sr., was appointed Worthy Patron and Mrs. Frank Williams, Worthy Matron. The degrees were conferred upon the newly instituted members. Miss Grace Hale (Mrs. Claude Holman) and Miss Irene Holman (Mrs. LeRoy McAllister) were selected to receive them. The Chapter now had 200 members.
In 1897, a group of Eastern Stars met in the home of Mrs. Frank Williams, and taking "Charity" as their by-word organized a social welfare program. Through the years they have ministered to the needs of the poor and sick and needy. Their good deeds are held in strict confidence among the members.
The Carlisle Clover Club was organized in Oct. 1897, for literary and social purposes. It is the second oldest club in St. Joseph County. Through the efforts of the original members, the New Carlisle and Olive Township Public Library came into existence. (See public library). The Womans Literary Club was organized in April 1901, for the purpose of studying Shakespeare and other great authors. The club was in existence for twenty years.
The Home Economics Club movement later known as Home Demonstration Club started around 1913. In its early days it was largely a rural study group to improve home life. The movement has grown until today seven clubs are active. Mrs. John Livelsberger Sr., served as county president in 1955.
In 1906, Mildred Hauser Jettner was initiated into the Delta Beta Phi sorority in Chicago. On her return, she organized a chapter in New Carlisle. In 1914, under their direction, the Sigma Chapter was organized. The members sponsored civic projects. The club song for the Sigma Chapter was written by Mrs. Ruby Hooten Schwab.
As the result of a recognized need for the girlhood of the community, The Order of the Rainbow for Girls Assembly No. 18, was sponsored by the Eastern Stars, and received its Charter Dec. 24, 1943. A girl does not have to be related to an Eastern Star or Mason to be eligible membership, but they must be endorsed by one of the former.
Under the direction of Morene and Wm. P. Bailey - Worthy Matron and Worthy Patron of the Eastern Stars at that time and the assistance of an advisory board consisting of Mr. And Mrs. Bailey. Mrs. Mary Clendenen Claudis Smith, Mrs. Olaf Olsen, Mrs. Bertha Dittmer, Mrs. Isabelle Smith, Homer Amen, and Mrs. Arthur Brummitt Sr., the first Assembly was carried on with great success. To date 204 girls from the age of 12 to 18 have been admitted to membership. The first Mother Advisor was Isabelle Smith and the first Worthy Advisor was Katherine Bickel Clark. Wm. P. Bailey died in 1951 and in the fall of that year his widow placed a Rainbow Emblem on the Masonic Temple of his memory.
In 1863, at the public meeting of the citizens of New Carlisle, the New Carlisle Cemetery Association was organized and the following officers were duly elected, Isaac Borden, Adam Mell, and F.D. Warner, Trustee. J.H. Service, Secretary, William Egbert, treasurer. The organization purchased two acres of ground west of town from J.H. Service, paying $100.00 per acre for the same.
On Jan. 3, 1867, the village of New Carlisle, having been incorporated, and one of the trustees of the Cemetery Association having died and no clear provision being made in the organization for his successor, it was deemed to the best interest of the citizens that the cemetery be placed under control and management of the Town of New Carlisle. Hence August 13, 1870, the surviving members of the New Carlisle Cemetery Association conveyed by warranty deed to the incorporated town of New Carlisle, the cemetery ground.
The first person buried in the New Carlisle Cemetery was Mrs. Ida Threadwell who died in the fall of 1863. The Womens Relief Corporation raised funds to erect a monument in honor of our soldiers buried there.
We have had our own monument business in town for, in 1879, Jonas Finley obtained a patent of cement burial vault. In partnership with Granville Drulinger, who bought a half interest in the patent, they organized the Finley Imperishable Vault Co. Jacob Augustine was made president and W.H. Deacon secretary.
Three sizes of vaults were constructed, large, medium, and small. But the average weight was a little more than a ton and had to be handled with a derrick. Which proved to be too expensive and the company failed. M.K. Beall had a shop at the foot of Arch street and was engaging in cutting and designing monuments in granite and marble. From a small beginning, the cemetery has been extended from U.S. 20 on the South to the New York Central railroad on the North.
ANTI-HORSE THIEF ASSOCIATION
The Terre Coupee Anti-Horse Thief Association was organized in 1853 or 1854, for the purpose of protecting the property of its members against the depredations of thieves, and for detecting and apprehending parties guilty os horse stealing.
The Association agreed to recover stolen property or indemnify the owner of the same if he was a member of the society. The Charter of this Association expired at the end of twenty years, according to law, and it was re-organized, with the same objects and purposes, but on the plan of a mutual insurance company. They paid for stolen horses 30 days after they failed to find them, at the rate of two-thirds the value of the horse was found and recovered it was optional with the owner whether he returned the horse or returned the money, for the horse might have been damaged. This society was a great protection, not only to its members but to every horse owner in the community. Mr. H. Reed was the first president. The society continued to function until about 1910.
The health of the community has always been of great concern to the people. The argue or the "shakes" as it was variously called, was a terror to the early settlers. It was not contagious but derived from impure water, improper food and the undrained Kankakee marsh. Smallpox was not unknown and south of the town limits the people built a pest house, where the poor unfortunates were placed and with the little care some brave member of the family could offer, the patient rarely survived.
The doctors of that period were on call day and night and some of them live in the memories of today. Dr. Joel Harris, who came in 1859; Dr. McDaniel and Dr. Massey who owned a drug store as well. There were Dr. Josephus Davis, later his son Dr. John Davis, Dr. Van Riper, Dr. Waynick and Dr. Foster, each adding his knowledge and devotion in an untiring stream of service to humanity.
Dr. Hugh M. Hall came to New Carlisle in 1911. He was a very civic minded man, an active member of the Community Church, the Masonic Lodge and one the most staunch supporters of the. Dr. Sam Morgan and his wife Emily attempted to have a hospital in what is now the Watson residence, corner of Cherry and Front streets, but the venture was not a success. He moved to LaPorte, Indiana where he became a noted surgeon but died in 1955, at the height of his career. Dr. Hugh Shedd of LaPorte County came to New Carlisle in 1920, remaining a few years and then went on to South Bend where he practiced for sometime.
Dr. R.K. Arisman maintained an office in the town for a time and is now a successful practicing physician and surgeon of South Bend. Dr. John Luzadder graduated from Indiana Medical School in 1931 and came to New Carlisle after a year internship at Memorial Hospital in South Bend. He married Dorothy Dorland of LaPorte and they have two daughters. Dr. Luzadder was elected president of the 13th district of the Indiana Medical Society, That includes St. Joseph and seven other counties. He also served as health officer of New Carlisle.
Olaf H. Olsen, D.O. a graduate of Des Moines Still College of Osteopathy and Surgery, began his practice in New Carlisle in 1941, after ten years of practice in South Bend. He married Margery Wilhelm. He was past president of the Lions Club, 32° Mason and Shriner. He served 61/2 years as a member of the Selective Service Board at South Bend in World War II. Dr. Olsen and Dr. Frank Engel, also an osteopath physician, both have offices in New Carlisle.
Dr. Isaac Borden was one of the first dentists. Dr. Russell Miller, son of Jacob Miller practiced dentistry for some years here before moving to South Bend. He was followed by Dr. Frank Miller, a graduate of Indiana Dental School, the son of John and Grace Miller. He now has >an extensive practice in Converse, Indiana. Dr. Walter Scherer came from South Bend in 1939, and is still practicing here. He is a veteran of World War I. Dr. James M. Bowers entered practice in New Carlisle in March 1952. He was a graduate of Northern Illinois College of Optometry.
By 1937 the tuberculosis problem became acute and early in September the St. Joseph County Anti-tuberculosis League attempted to set up a Health Committee that would gain the interest and cooperation of the various groups of the community. The committee members were Dr. John Luzadder, Dr. R.K. Arisman, Mrs. Arthur Brummitt Sr., Mrs. Robert Watt, Mrs. Darle Pfeiffer, Mrs. Wm. Hooten, Rev. C.A. Cloud, Rev. John Wroblewski and Mr. A.E. Murphy.
Mrs. A.E. Murphy became an active member of the board of directors and was serving as secretary when she moved from New Carlisle in 1955. An educational program for cancer control began in 1943, under the direction of the following committee: Mr. Orrin Shaw, Mrs. Neil Wade, Rev. James Manes, Rev. John Wroblewski, Mrs. Charles McCay and Mrs. Robert Watt. This program was so successful it was used as a model for other rural communities.
Jeremiah Service was one of the first settlers. He was born in New York, Nov. 15, 1812. He was a brick maker for several years after coming here. Sara Flannigan became his wife in 1847 and four children were born to his union - George, Charles, Phoena and Carrie.
George Service was born in 1848. He was educated in the local school and attended Bryant and Stratton Business College at Chicago. He married Mary Hews of LaPorte, Indiana. They had three daughters - Clara, Anna and Lizzie. Jeremiah was engaged extensively in many activities. He ran the first bank under the name of Service and Son.
George and Jeremiah dealt in grain and wool buying. A small building still standing behind the First National Bank, was used to store the wool, and older residents remember it piled to the ceiling. They controlled elevators in New Carlisle, Osceola and the Terre Coupee elevator located on the Lake Shore Railroad. They also operated elevators in Galien, Dayton, Buchanan, Michigan and Mill Creek, Indiana.
Over speculation and a combination of unfortunate circumstances resulted in failure. The store and bank building burned in the fire of 1898. In 1917, a group of farmers established a Farmers State Bank in a building on the south west corner of Michigan and Arch streets. The bank operated under a board of directors. It closed its doors in the depression of 1933.
The First National Bank was organized in October 1900, and the Charter was issued January 2, 1901, by Charles Dawes, Comptroller of the currency. The first board of directors was Haven Hubbard, President, Judge Lucius Hubbard, D.S. Scofforn, William Brummitt and Arthur Brummitt, Sr. They took over all the assets and liabilities of the bank of Brummitt Hardware Co. and continued to do a thriving business.
The depression of 1929, struck the people of the country with the impact of a physical blow. Unemployment was every where. Banks and businesses began to fail. Many people were in dire straits. Franklin D. Roosevelt of New York State was elected President of the United States, in 1932. A serious man faced the people on March 4, 1933, when his inauguration took place.
He said, "My friends, this is a day of National Consecration. The only thing we have to fear is fear itself - nameless, unreasoning, unjustified, terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance - We must act, and act quickly. There must be a strict supervision of all banking and credits and investments; there must be and end to speculation with other peoples money, and there must be provision for an adequate but sound currency. These are the lines of attack. I shall presently urge upon a new Congress in special session detailed measures for their fulfillment."
There was more, of course, to this famous talk. People sat by their radios, housewives and farmers, the rich and the poor, listening and hoping. Less than twenty four hours after his inauguration, President Roosevelt called a meeting of his cabinet. Time was precious. Able lawyer, that Roosevelt was, he unearthed the old Trading with the Enemy Act of 1917, which gave the Chief Executive power over the countrys money. At midnight he announced his decision. The waiting, worried people listened.
From March 6th to March 9th, all the banks in the United States were ordered to suspend operations. Congressional leaders of both parties pledged themselves to support the President in his battle against his depression. The bank examiners went into every bank and studied the books, and on the first day after the moratorium, a few Federal Reserve banks were licensed to open. These banks were in Class A, like in New York, San Fransisco and Chicago.
The second day, banks in Class 2, such as Milwaukee, Indianapolis and Detroit opened their doors. The third day solvent banks in Class 3, Mishawaka, South Bend, LaPorte and New Carlisle were allowed to open.
Arthur Brummitt, Sr. was President of the bank at the time. He was a tall, distinguished man, in his early sixties. His hair and mustache were white. His eyes looked at a person with patience, kindness and a mild curiosity. He always spoke in a low soft voice. He had a keen, dry wit and a stern sense of justice. The people of New Carlisle saw him night after night as he walked the streets of the village, his heart heavy with concern in the troubled times.
Under Arthur Brummitts able direction, and the trust and confidence the residence of the community had in him as an honorable and just man to deal with, the bank remained open during the difficult days that followed. In 1946, Arthur Brummitt Sr., received a 50 year pin from the Indiana Bankers Association. At this writing, he had served the New Carlisle Public for 58 years.
The present board of directors include Arthur Brummitt Sr., President; William J. Hooten, Vice-President; and Arthur Brummitt Jr., Karl E. Kalberer, D.W. Brummitt and W.W. Brummitt, directors.
Arthur Brummitt Jr., went into the bank in 1919 and Ben Bates in 1925. Worth Brummitt entered the bank in 1928, and although he carries on the tradition of a banking family, he left New Carlisle May 26, 1936. He was made Vice-President of the St. Joseph Bank & Trust Co. of South Bend in June, 1953. The youngest son, Don Brummitt, entered the bank in 1936, and remained until 1948, when he took over the insurance business maintaining an office in the bank building.
In 1918, the bank expanded, the vault was placed and partitions were removed in order to use the entire building. In 1954, the old fixtures were removed and new counters and fixtures of walnut were added for convenience and attractiveness. Arthur Brummitt Sr. died in 1955. His son Arthur Jr. succeeded him as President.
THE GREAT DEPRESSION AND ITS EFFECT ON THE PEOPLE
By 1935, the depression had a serious effect on the lives of the people in New Carlisle. Although Mr. Brummitt had succeeded in keeping our bank open, money was tight and people were deeply in dept. The Public Works Administration known as P.W.A. did not take care of many of our people for they were not construction workers.
A third agency known as W.P.A. was created by President Roosevelt. This agency undertook to supply work for anyone who needed a job. New sidewalks were built, public buildings redecorated and cemeteries restored. With the coming of World War II, prosperity returned.
THE GREAT WARS
The great wars had their effect upon the people. Previous to the Civil War, New Carlisle was a gay town. Entertainments consisted largely of musical concerts, Swiss bell ringers and circuses. Lectures were very popular and the people listened eagerly to any subject from temperance to phrenology.
"Spell downs" always drew a crowd too. The spellers would line up in two lines. The captain would give a word to the first one in one line. If he misspelled it, he or she had to sit down and the next one tried, and the next until it was properly spelled. This went on until there was only one standing. The words became very difficult then eventually the last one failed.
Next to the spell downs, the singing schools were well attended. Not always having a musical instrument, someone would start out with do, re, me, fa, sol, la, ti, do, and while the songs were a far cry from the ones our young folks enjoy today, nevertheless, they were greatly enjoyed.
The character of the pioneers of New Carlisle may well be mentioned. The beautiful view, from "Bourissa Hill" over the fertile Terre Coupee Prairie, the inexhaustible forest supply, and the many improvements constantly going forward, combined to deeply impress their character, to give them a spirit of enterprise, an independence of feeling and a joy in their small town that still exists today.
Election days were observed as holidays. As the women had not been granted the franchise, the men voted, drank whiskey, fought and wrestled, and friends and enemies were made that lasted a lifetime.
The fall of Fort Sumptner was a signal that aroused the people as nothing had ever done before. The news was flashed to Indianapolis on the 14th of April, 1861 and early the next morning, this message was sent to Washington.
Executive Department of Indiana
Indianapolis, April 15, 1861
To Abraham Lincoln, President of the United States:
On behalf of the state of Indiana , I tender to you for the defense of the nation, and to uphold the authority of the government, ten thousand men.
Oliver P. Morton
Governor of Indiana
On the same night, the courthouse at South Bend was crowed with a mass of voters, who irrespective the party, hailed this opportunity of showing their determination to stand by the government, the Union of the Constitution.
A second meeting was held in South Bend on Friday evening April 19, and a committee consisting of J.H. Service, T.J. Garoutte and John Reynolds of New Carlisle, was named to solicit and collect subscriptions to aid in forming and equipping volunteer companies, and to provide for the families of such volunteers as might need assistance.
During the Civil War, it was necessary for each township to furnish its full quota of men between the ages of 18 and 45. This could be done by volunteers or hired substitutes.
THE DRAFT OF THE CIVIL WAR 1862 - 1863
Why it was Adopted...
After the first few calls for volunteers, it was found that some localities were furnishing more than their proportion of recruits. To remedy this situation, Congress enacted a general conscription law, requiring each state to furnish its proper quota of troops.
In turn, this number was apportioned to the various towns and townships. The names of all enrolled persons were placed in a wheel and there were drawn out twice as many names as were needed to fill the quota. If the first man whose name was drawn failed to pass the physical examination, the next man took his place until the quota of able-bodied men was filled.
The question of obtaining help was a serious one, for the people on the surrounding farms. Fred Miller, a German Pole, had unusual ability in bringing in Polish people in from the old country. He went to New York often and would meet families just getting off the boat. By advancing them transportation and expenses, he would get them to come here. They gradually cleared and drained the huge Kankakee marsh and then bought land cheap and set up for themselves. There are many children in our school, who are decedents of these first immigrants. Many of them are Catholics, and also there is no Catholic Church in New Carlisle, our school has carefully remained non-sectarian so that freedom of worship has been an outstanding part of our way of life. The children of Catholic Faith are allowed to observe their special religious days and are excused from their classes.
Civil War dead buried in our New Carlisle cemetery number 66. May 5, 1887, Deacon Post 115 G.A.R. was organized. They decorated the graves at Olive Chapel, Terrils grave yard, Hamilton grave yard, Hudson grave yard, Maple Grove grave yard and Bootjack grave yard.
Several veterans of the Spanish American War lived in New Carlisle - Charles Ashcraft, Everette Field, Lorenzo Renfro, Henry Herde and George Cook. Soon after the close of World War I and the return of veterans of that war, a meeting was called for the purpose of organizing an American Legion Post.
Swanson Post 297, named in memory of the deceased James Swanson, was chartered by the Department of Indiana to the following members: Roy Mitchell, Ward S. Sutherland, Lloyd R. Borden, Charles F. Baer, Russell G. Miller, Lewis VanWinkle, Edward Fack, Orville C. Carr, Ben H. Bate, Marvin Smith, Dean Lauver, Roy DeLotter, Joseph A. Massey, Lawrence King and Frank Bleasedale.
The Post met at various places and remained active until 1931, when they broke up and the Charter was revoked. Near the end of World War II, the Post was re-organized and re-chartered by the Department on March 20, 1945, to the following members: Robert H. Watt, Homer C. Amen, Edward Cabanaw, Raymond VanLue, Ben H. Bate, Glenn Kollar, John A. Schuler, Albert F. Alm, Sr., Guy Sutton, Richard M. Kleine, Vernon Harrington, Jesse Harrington, Eber Burch, Arthur F. Keen and Oscar Keen.
On March 3, 1948, the present Constitution and By-Laws were adopted and the post name changed from Swanson to New Carlisle Post 297. The permanent Charter was issued on March 12, 1948. On October 8, 1947, the Post had purchased a tract of land known as Lot 1 and 2 of the New Carlisle Lumber and Coal Co. Addition, for the purpose of constructing a ball diamond and a post home. The diamond was completed in the spring of 1948, and hopes of a new home approached fulfillment on June 8, 1949, when plans for the home were accepted and the ground broke on June 10. During the period of planning and construction, much credit should be given to the untiring labors of the building and grounds committees, whose efforts made this dream come true and to the small group of members whose belief in the project kept alight the fires of hope.
The committees were: Building - Donald Brummitt, Chairman; Robert Watt and Clyde Clapp. Finance Committee: - Robert Watt, Chairman; Ben H. Bate and D.W. Brummitt. House Committee - Dr. J.W. Scherer, Chairman; Murl K. Barnes and Harry Peirce. Grounds Committee - Wm. L. Moore, Chairman.
Flags, which had been placed on the graves of 2000 War Veterans in St. Joseph County, were burned in an impressive ceremony at Hamilton Cemetery, July 16, 1951. Over 350 persons gathered in the old church yard to witness the event. Don Brummitt was Chairman, with American Legion Post and Auxiliary from New Carlisle as hosts. Mrs. Robert Watt told the history of the Hamilton Cemetery, This ceremony became a yearly event.
MOTHERS OF WORLD WAR II, UNIT 126
On April 19, 1944, Mrs. Joseph Eckstrom called a meeting in the school auditorium of the mothers having sons or daughters serving in the world conflict. There were 29 present and Mrs. Eckstrom presided as Chairman. The following officers were elected: President, Viola Gay; Vice-Pers., Glenna Clark; Secretary, Mertia Eckstrom; Treasurer, Augusta Alm.
The first regular meeting was held on May 4, of that year, in the library basement, with each mother paying $1.00 dues. Their activities were aiding veterans and their families, and loaning hospital equipment to people of the community. They had a wide rehabilitation program for hospitalized veterans.
The War Mothers sponsored several overnight stops in New Carlisle, of foreign youths, brought to the United States to study in American schools. The students toured the country under the direction of the American Field Service, International Scholarship Program. William J. Hooten, son of William J. and Helen Brummitt Hooten, was responsible for bringing the students to New Carlisle.
The War Mothers slogan was "Work for peace, so there will be no more veterans." There are 12 Gold Star Mothers on record in this area. Perry Runnels, George Murphy and Harold Layman, New Carlisle boys, made the supreme sacrifice.
The American Legion Auxiliary Unit of New Carlisle Post 297, was organized on November 11, 1948, with 21 Charter members. The Charter was issued on July 18, 1949, by the Department of Indiana, to the following members: Eunice McMullin, Betty Dodd, Eleanor Barnes, Helen Moore, Helen Pepper, Maybelle Pierce, Ruth Clapp, Rachel OLaughlin, Ruby Jones, Mary Scherer, Mary Brummitt, Jane Baird Hooten, Maude Dodd, Ruth Kern, Nathalie Lauver, Jo-Ann Nelson, Elva Phillips, Elizabeth Roberts, Bettie Rodgers, Mary Stover and Marguerite Watt.
Mrs. Clyde Clapp was appointed Girl State Chairman, to work with the school faculty to choose an outstanding girl with a high scholastic rating. Eldonna Meisner, Verna Jean Adnson, Dorothy Hostetler and Lila Himes attended a school on government at Purdue University. All expenses were paid by the Legion Auxiliary.
The American Legion granted a nurses scholarship to Mary Ann Gay and in addition to their work with veterans, sponsored boys to Boys State. Three war brides came to New Carlisle after World War II. Red-haired, diminutive Mrs. Elroy Balyeat Jr. and the tall attractive Mrs. Thomas Bartmess, came from England, while beautiful Mrs. C.A. Roberts was born and lived in Scotland until her marriage to an American Soldier.
In October 1954 five men were recruited for Civil Defense police service: LeRoy Stutsman, Paul Bingaman, Charles Mason, Max Haag and Walter Hughes. In January 1955 they started training and by March of the same year they had finished their police and first aid training. LeRoy Stutsman was the first captain. At least 60 people are acting or waiting to be trained and organized for rescue service, warden service, ground observers and fire service.
The first newspaper in New Carlisle was published by Charles Drapier, in 1856. It was followed by the Recorder. The work was done on an old Washington hand press. Lewis Boyington was typesetter, pressman, editor and owner.
The New Carlisle Gazette, one of the best of the county newspapers, was established Feb. 6, 1880, by George M. Fountain and George M. Alward. It was at first independent in politics, but at the end of six months, Mr. Fountain Bought out his partner, and continued the publication of the Gazette an a Republican Journal, until his election as clerk of the St. Joseph Circuit Court, when Mr. E.L. Maudlin took charge.
He continued the paper for more than twenty years. The Gazette was an 8 column paper, making it the largest paper in the state for $1.00 per year. The next paper was the New Carlisle Journal, edited and published by Harry Roloff and son, Everett.
Ray Evans bought the printing office from Roloff in 1920, and built up a business with modern machinery that serviced a large area. A number of newspapers came into existence through the years but due to increased circulation of Chicago, South Bend and LaPorte papers, the local newspapers proved unprofitable and were discontinued.
In 1855, Yankee Simpson and family came to New Carlisle in a show wagon and gave an entertainment. Mrs. Simpson became ill. As her husband had owned and managed a foundry, he with some local people, organized a company and built a foundry and shop for the purpose of manufacturing plows.
The woodwork for the plows was done in a building on Michigan street, located where the Welcraft factory stands. The foundry was situated at the foot of the hill, directly north of the shop. The foundry was built with an oven on the outside adjoining the west end. When they wanted to do casting, they filled the oven with wood and old cast iron. After the iron was melted, it was taken out and molded into mold boards for plows.
They did a very satisfactory business for a while, but the farmer had trouble in getting the cast iron plow to scour and steel plows were being manufactured. The plow trade grew less and the foundry building was sold and converted into a dwelling, which still stands.
Yankee Simpson, tiring of the life of a country mechanic, sold the business and went on the road with a musical company. Owing to the abundance of yellow and white basswood growing in this vicinity, a man by the name of DeFreese moved his excelsior factory here.
This excelsior was used primarily for mattress making but gradually was adopted by wholesale dealers for packing purposes. After a short time the factory was moved to Chicago. In 1886, John Stevens erected a factory, location unknown, and placed machinery expressly for the manufacture of bracket work, mouldings, book cases, etc.
From time to time, various factories wanted to come to New Carlisle, and the people welcomed the idea. Although the land was offered free and in one instance stock was sold, there never was enough money to really finance them and the endeavors failed, until Floyd Seyfried built the Mid-City Tool Company in 1946.
Mr. And Mrs. Seyfried had a business in Chicago. They came to New Carlisle Oct. 4, 1946, and the factory started operating January 6, 1947. They designed and built tools, dies, jigs, fixtures and special machinery. They employed 15 to 20 specialized workmen. Mr. Seyfried died Dec. 20, 1951, and Mrs. Seyfried took over the management of the plant.
This industry was started in North Liberty in 1951, with William Hass as president and Herbert Leipold, from Fort Wayne, as vice-president and manager. On June 10, 1953, the machines and equipment were moved from North Liberty to New Carlisle, where a new building had been erected on the site of the old opera house.
The first project was gasket cutting. This work was discontinued and the manufacture of wire assemblies for refrigerators and other appliances has taken its place. From a small start of eight employees, the business grew to cover an area of 13,000 square feet and 80 skilled and semi-skilled people were employed. New Carlisle was chosen as a site for this business because of its general location and transportation facilities. Only local people were hired.
Adjoining St. Joseph County on the west, lies the small township of Hudson. Closely related by business, cultural and social ties, the community known as "Hudson Lake" is generally thought of as a part of New Carlisle. The western side of Terre Coupee prairie extends into Hudson Township on the east and Hudson Lake, a beautiful sheet of water, about two miles in length and averaging a half mile in width draws people from Chicago and surrounding cities for summer or permanent homes.
As early as 1833, the village known first as Lake Port, then later changed to Hudson, began to be recognized as a place of importance. By 1835, when Richard Carlisle first bought the land that was to become New Carlisle, the town of Hudson was in the full tide of prosperity. It had a post office, two taverns, stages were arriving and leaving at all hours, the streets were filled with eager and busy throng and it seemed no town in the vicinity could ever compete with it.
A dream of canal from the city of Toledo, Ohio, to New Buffalo on Lake Michigan, seemed a possibility and all Hudson was wild with excitement. However, the speculative bubble burst and the people were forced to sell their land at a sacrifice and go to other parts to establish themselves in business.
In 1836, the post office was discontinued at Hudson to the great indignation of the citizens who according to an early history "laid the matter to the trickery of their neighbors in the village of New Carlisle" (History of LaPorte Co.)
For it was true that soon after George Matthews arrived in New Carlisle, he opened a post office and was duly appointed postmaster Feb.25, 1837. In 1839, the Honorable John Reynolds went to Washington and had the post office re-established at Hudson, but by 1854, New Carlisle had completely taken over so that the Hudson post office was finally discontinued for good.
About 1907, rural free delivery mail routes were established from the New Carlisle post office. Small horse drawn covered wagons were used, equipped with small compartments for the sorted mail. In fact each was a traveling post office . In winter the little frame body was put on runners and converted into a sleigh. A lighted kerosene lantern was placed under a warm buffalo robe and the small carrier seldom failed to put in his appearance. The first rural mail carriers were Charles Whittaker, Frank Williams, Al Evans and Al Wykoff.
According to the records of the Post Office Department now in the custody of the National Archives and Records Service, Washington 25, D.C. a post office was established at New Carlisle, St. Joseph County, on Feb. 25, 1837. Names of postmasters and dates of their appointment were:
George W. Matthews............................................February 25, 1837
Garret Morris........................................................April 2,1840
Eber Woolman Jr...................................................February 18, 1842
Jeremiah H. Service...............................................October 25, 1843
Theodore Borden...................................................December 14, 1846
Augustine Richardson.............................................November 15, 1853
Gabriel Druliner......................................................May 2, 1854
Jesse Oglesby..........................................................March 9, 1861
Elwood Moore........................................................September 17, 1863
Francis Warner........................................................April 22, 1865
John Davis..............................................................October 21, 1885
George Fountain......................................................April 27, 1889
James Parnell............................................................May 23, 1893
George Service.........................................................July 27, 1897
Edward Maudlin.......................................................December 19, 1899
Charles Bates............................................................March 9, 1916
LeRoy McAllister (acting).........................................June 12, 1924
Dean Lauver..............................................................June 23, 1933
George Casaday.........................................................December 1, 1942
Robert Moffitt (acting)...............................................April 16, 1946
Mary Livelsberger (acting)..........................................January 12, 1947
Frederick OLaughlin..................................................August 24, 1948
Dean Lauver................................................................February 28, 1951
State representatives from New Carlisle were Thomas Jefferson Garoutte and Francis B. Warner.County commissioners form New Carlisle were Daniel White, Mark Brummitt, James Miller, John Hauser and Leo Casaday Jr.
TOWN CLERKS OF NEW CARLISLE
Date of their first board meeting.
May 8, 1872.........................................................F.D. Warner
May 10, 1873.......................................................E.H. Harris
May 7, 1875.........................................................A.L. Evans
May 8, 1880.........................................................M.A. Smith
May 15, 1882.......................................................James Curry Jr.
May 6, 1889........................................................J.C. Davis
May 6, 1891.........................................................W.E. Hixson
Aug. 17, 1891......................................................J.C. Service
May 5, 193...........................................................F.T. Bleasdale
May 17, 1897.......................................................J.W.Miller
May 16, 1898.......................................................Jno. Service
May 15, 1899.......................................................F.M. Williams
June 3, 1901.........................................................W.N. Deacon
Dec. 19, 1904.......................................................Dr. I.W. Borden
Jan. 8, 1908..........................................................R.B. Lancaster
Jan. 2, 1911..........................................................George Doughty
June 22, 1915.......................................................Percy Lauver
Dec. 18, 1916.......................................................George Doughty
Jan. 21, 1918........................................................LeRoy McAllister
Jan. 7, 1924..........................................................Ida M. Wenger
Jan. 6, 1930..........................................................Ward Mounts
Jan. 2, 1940..........................................................Robert L. Smith
Sept. 22, 1942.......................................................Russell Towman
Dec. 7, 1942...........................................................Garnett Shaw
June 17, 1946.........................................................Bartlette Taylor
Aug. 19, 1946........................................................H.E. Harrison
Jan. 6, 1947............................................................Mildred Jettner
Jan. 7, 1952............................................................Blanche K. Luther
Frank Walker, the oldest man to be elected to the town council was 84 years of age when he took office. He served the fifth ward with honor and distinction.
Several of the splendid early homes in New Carlisle are still in existence. Typical of them is the beautiful home of Jeremiah Service built about 1850. Listed as a Currier and Ives House, it stands on top of the hill at Timothy and Michigan streets, a fine example of the architecture of that day. Always a scene of lavish entertainment, the Carpenters and the Holloways maintained the same elegant way of the living.
After the death of Charles and Grace Holloway, Dr. F.J. Vurpillat of South Bend purchased the property. The William J. Stovers are the present occupants and have restored the mansion to its former magnificence.
The house built by Ransom Hubbard in 1881, on the southwest corner of Cherry and Front streets, is remarkably well preserved. The wide spiral staircase, the polished butternut wood and the long windows, reaching from the floor to the ceiling, lend an air of gracious living to the interior. It has a richness of structural beauty that is as fresh as the finest house built today.
Through the years this home was owned by Mark Brummitt, Helen Brummitt Hooten, Waldemar Driscoll and the present owners, Glen and Winnie Watson. 15 additions have been developed until in 1955, the town was bounded by Ivins Addition - Chestnut street - College street and Meridian and Lincoln Trail.
Services - 1st - 2nd - 3rd and 4th Addition - Timothy road - Harris Town limit - Feb. 21, 1949 New York - Central - Arch - Michigan street - Bray street - Front street. Comptons 1st and 2nd Additions - Chestnut - Timothy - Ada. Stevens - 1st and 2nd Additions - bounded by Meridian, Bellevue - New York Centeral Railroad and Front street.
Carskadons - Bounded by Front, Meridian and Bray and Lincoln Trail. Ralph Kellers Addition - Bounded by Lawton Ave., Lincoln Trail and Meridian. Vogler Addition - Filbert - Compton - Ada. Feb. 20, 1950 Anderson Addition - Ada - Town limit. Dec. 6, 1948
New Carlisle Lumber and Coal Company Addition - North X Road - Wintergreen road - Town limits - Lincoln Way. June 11, 1946. Livelsberger Addition - Bounded by Elm street and Monfries and Campbells 1st Addition - Jan. 29, 1951. Ziglers Addition - South Shore Track - Town limit - Arch and Timothy rd.
Freeman Acres - Timothy rd. - Lincoln Trail - North X Road - Northern Indiana Electric Right of Way. Bingham and Swartz Addition - Ada - Bray - Ben and Andersons Addition. Sunnycrest Addn. Town limits in 1955 - Wintergreen rd. on east Dunn rd. on South County Line Road and the New York Centeral Railroad to X Road North.
In 125 years of growth, New Carlisle has well earned the distinction of being in the first ranks of beautiful towns in the state. Location and natural advantages have largely determined its growth and prosperity. The decedents of many of the pioneer families still live in and around the town.
There have been no Asiatics, few Catholics and only one negro family since the town was settled. From a small town of retired farmers, New Carlisle has become an urban community of industrial workers.
We can picture Richard Carlisle as he stood in front of the crude pole cabin of Lazarus Bourissa, fresh from the culture of Philadelphia. Could the wanderer by any far reach of his immigration, picture the town that was to bear his name as it is today - teeming with activity , the farm lands surrounding it bringing forth abundant harvest - a broad highway, where once an Indian Trail showed faintly through the oak grubs and woods. Yet Richard Carlisle envisioned a town on Bourissa Hill, patterned after his beloved native city and brought it to pass. Only a dreamer could have seen it.